Just had a reminder….

Someone posted a picture of a coffee percolator on Facebook  and asked if anyone recognised it.
Of course I did….. and then recalled the immortal words “Waiter, Waiter, Percolater” and listening to Javav Jave on the wind up Gramophone:

So click and listen

If you enjoyed that then Click again for lots more

They were recording in the 1930s and 40s…. I listened as a kid on a windup gramophone here in the UK through the late 40s, the 50s and into the 60s.
Those were (for me) innocent days as I didn’t know that they along with  Ellington, Armstrong, Ella Basie and others were black musicians… and I didn’t know that Venuti and Laing, Deanna Durbin , Goodman, Miller, The Quintet of the Hot Club were white….. why would I? From age about 3 onward I just loved listening to the music……

3 Responses to “Just had a reminder….”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    I will enjoy those links today!

  2. Janet Says:

    “I love coffee, I love tea…” That put a smile on my face. Thank you, David. My father had a collection of old 78 records. I would listen to them on many a day. That music reminds me of the fun dancing, I think it was called jitterbugging.

    • magpie11 Says:

      I don’t know that we ever danced back then…. I do emeber getting into trouble for trying to read the record labels as they went round at great speed.
      I have a spare pickup head into which I have long intended putting a Mono cartidge with a suitable stylus to play 78s…. maybe I’ll get around to it…. Apparently I have to find the correct radius for the stylus. It varies according to the age of the record.

Leave a Reply

