I want to swear…

Never have I felt more like swearing . Well, certainly not for a long time.

My reaction to comments on a previous post I used my usual search engine to research “the need for religion”.
The first word I saw on the results list was Auschwitz.

I did not even look at the article (though I suspect that it quotes Viktor Frankl) My  immediate thought was “Where does that and other attrocities fit with Conrad’s behavioural explanation?”

What is the  B****** difference between that and the destruction of  other species? Of course, we know the answer don’t we? The Nazis considered Jews and Gipsies as less than men…aka animals. As their tool they used the wilful blindness present within a group to carry out their wishes. The same at Srebrenica and in Ruanda.The same in the killing fields of Cambodia.

I remember my son sitting watching an historical documentary about the Holocaust and commenting, “This is part of what makes us human.” (OWTTE)  It must have been around the time of the Srebrenica massacre. How right he was.

No doubt these attrocities against humans can be explained on behavioural grounds…in fact they can be. They can even be understood but that does not mean thay are to be excused nor does it mean that there is anything “right” about them.

The nazis took dominion over the lives of millions, so did the Hutus over the Tutsis, so did General Ratko Mladić over the Bosniaks.

So do all we humans over “the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over the cattle, and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth”
And we exercise that dominion callously, with no thought to the consequences of what we do. And many humans use scripture and religious teaching as an excuse.

Religious teaching political teaching….whatever the creed it does not make it right.

I hold no torch for animal rights groups but give me their, sometimes twisted,  honesty over the religious caucus that hide behind “scripture” and “holy” books any day.

Me? Yes I eat meat and drink milk. I try my damndest not to consume over exploitative foodstuffs but I’m by no means a completely green person. Not in any sense of the word.

6 Responses to “I want to swear…”

  1. Ursula Says:

    Have just caught up with your and Old Fossil’s exchange on your previous post. Can’t help feeling that there – and here – we need to restore order: What are we actually discussing?

    You are clearly angry at lots of things. And yes, some of them weave together. But, within the confines of comment boxes, there needs to be a coherent thread (this is no criticism just an observation).

    So let me take up just one, and very simple, thread: Eating meat. Because I think it appalling the way most animals are reared for our consumption (remember, we are omnivores) I will only ever cook, serve and eat – be it chicken, pig or beef – which had a happy life and a benign slaughter. Same with eggs. I rather go without than have a battery farmed chicken on my conscience. Fact is, Magpie, each of us can only vote with our feet and that, in my purse, is very expensive indeed. Luckily, I was a rabbit in an earlier life so carrots do me fine when my money doesn’t stretch to a cow grazing freely, a chicken being able to scratch, a pig given the freedom and space those highly intelligent animals need. I gag on anything else.

    U

    • magpie11 Says:

      Yup! I am angry….. mostly my fellow humans….. many of whom I actually like very much.

      If I have one over-riding fault (among all the others) it is that I react. If someone says somethnig that I instinctively find wrong then I will react. Hence my being diverted from the topic under discussion previoulsy. I have my suspicions as to why this was and is done.

      I’m intrigued that you latched onto the topic of meat……

  2. Ursula Says:

    Dear Magpie, you know that I rarely quote others. Not because I don’t value what they say (I do) but because I think we should try and say what we have to say in our own words and not take what I perceive as the lazy way out.

    However, these words are too brilliant to miss, found in the obituary of a formidable headmistress who died in January, aged 97:

    “If I were to be asked to name the quality of character MOST valuable in a teacher: Constant and unquenchable faith in human nature”. Indeed.

    U

  3. magpie11 Says:

    A very nice concept.

    As a teacher, I would say that my faith was always in the potential of human nature. If I had thought about it at all, that is. After all, children constantly show us all sides of human nature.

  4. Rummuser Says:

    My faith too is in the potential of human nature. I submit that we are evolving into that potential of concern for all life, or shall we say, to become moral beings. In the scheme of the Universe, the time frame to reach that potential is irrelevant as, time itself is only a concept, not truth.

  5. Rummuser Says:

    Incidentally, you might find this interesting: http://www.theatlantic.com/technology/archive/2012/03/were-underestimating-the-risk-of-human-extinction/253821/

Leave a Reply

