ideas……

Well, here’s another post in the LBC series.
There is something about the idea behind LBC (Loose Blogger’s (or Blogging)Consortium) that appeals. A disparate group of people who are drawn together to write and publish their writings for all and sundry to read, or not, as the whim of chance takes them.
And the latest topic for the erudition of the world? IDEAS!

I am wondering what kind of idea this idea  really is? Why choose Ideas as an idea to write about? My mind is boggling>

So I decided to consult The Shorter Oxford Dictionary (6th Edition) to seek the real meaning and etymology of the word.

I found myself confronted by ten different meanings, most of which are completely new to me.

The earliest use of the word occurs, apparently, in Late Middle English (1350-1469): In Platonic philosophy: an eternally existing pattern of any class, of which the individual members are imperfect copies.

I have to ask, What does that mean?

As to the etymology: it comes from Greek, via Latin.The base of idien and apparently idea = look,semblance, form, kind, nature,  ideal form, model…Oh dear! Whose idea was it to send me off on this search?

Speaking of ideas. Here is one I had earlier: If a small rodent chews a hole in a football, is it a deflater mouse?

I leave you all to ponder this and wish you a Good new Year and a Happy 2012.

 

6 Responses to “ideas……”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    Way back in the now dim and distant past, when I heard that the common market was spreading wings I was heard to mutter “Here we go again”! I wondered how long it would take before we had One Great Big USE to start a war over! I was not far wrong.

    I would like to place an order for 1lb each of carrots, parsnips, potatoes, turnips and peas….. if I can pay you in buttons orrrrrr – I do a neat turn-up! 😉

  2. Grannymar Says:

    Oops! The cooking sherry has gone to my head! The comment above was meant for the previous post! Hic!

    I’d go for deflater mouse any time instead of football!

    May 2012 give you the weather to produce good crops and blog posts!

  3. Delirious Says:

    I also found this a difficult topic.

    At first I thought you wrote “desparate group of people” instead of “disparate”. lol Maybe both apply. 😉

  4. Rummuser Says:

    And if someone else, totally unknown, came along, repaired the puncture and inflated the football, would he be called the inflateamouse?

    Yes, Delirious is right. We are both disparate and desperate.

  5. Maria from 'gaelikaa's diary' Says:

    I might have known that a teacher would go for the etymology. That is to be expected, I should think.

  6. magpie11 Says:

    It would depend upon the Teacher. Most of my ex colleagues would think that approach too highbrow…..

Leave a Reply

