Gratitude ……. or graticule……

Chambers: a warm and friendly feeling towards a benefactor; thankfulness.

Shorter Oxford:the quality or condition of being grateful; a warm feeling of goodwill towards a benefactor. 2 Grace, favour; a favour 3 a free gift;gratuity, reward

Webster’s New World: feeling of thankful appreciation for favours or benefits received; thankfulness

Funny this,. I first read the word on the list a “graticule” and was immediately transported in my mind to the laboratory bench and peering down a microscope using a graticule to measure the size of different cells or parts of cells. Or counting the number of cells….

This was something that I was good at and can even say that I was happy doing….. The subject?  Bacillus cereus var mycoides. I was studying the effects of dalapon (2,2-Dichloropropionic acid, CH3CCl2COOH) upon it in culture.

This was my special study for my Teacher Training course in Biology.

As a result of this reflection I felt some gratitude to the large, American based chemical company who employed me in my vacations and whose Chemist allowed me the use of their facilities for the analytical parts of my work. Which was more than they had previously shewed for the trouble shooting work that I did to sort out a right cock-up some idiot had commited a couple of years earlier. A lack of gratitude that sent me into a career in teaching…but that is another story.

Gratitude for a graticule… nice.

LBC posting for other thoughts, takes, talks or otherwise on the subject of Gratitude click any one of these links. You never know what you may find or whom.

Anu, Ashok, Conrad, Delirious, gaelikaa, Noor, Padmini, Ramana, Rohit, The Silver Fox Whispers, The Student Diaries, Will ,Nema, Paul , Plain Joe and Grannymar .

5 Responses to “Gratitude ……. or graticule……”

  1. blackwatertown Says:

    I have only read a couple of LBC posts on this so far, but I think it’s safe for me to predict that this is the most unusual take on the topic.

  2. Rummuser Says:

    Trust you to come up with a totally bizarre take on the subject. You had me laughing Magpie and I am grateful to you for that. I am also grateful to you for having reminded me of a graticule!

  3. Grannymar Says:

    You always manage to bring a surprise element from outside the box. I never had the opportunity to do science at school, so a graticule and its use are foreign to me. I am grateful for the short lesson and for the fact you were led into teaching….. just look at all the young lives you gave meaning to, and minds you broadened.

  4. magpie11 Says:

    Somewhere amongst my collected junk that lies scattered around the house is a box of microscope slides. Amongst the Daphnia sp. stained Carmine(IIRC) and other gems is one labelled Stage Micrometer. This consists of a set of finely etched lines with precise spacings that is used to calibrate a lens graticule…… I love tools and this is one that I was able to use really well.

    I expect the mistaking of gratitude for graticule was entirely Freudian.

  5. Ocdwriter Says:

    A very unconventional take on the subject and all the science talk sent my head into a dizzy. You still think you can find the teacher in you to knock some sense into moi? 😉

Leave a Reply

