Focus

Perhaps it’s something to do with age but I do find it difficult to focus in the way I used to. There was a time when I could enjoy listening to a piece of music, read a book or newspaper and watch a T.V. programme all at the same time. Multiple focus! I suspect that it was a skill that helped me and many others in teaching a class of children: Holding a conversation with one child whilst listening to another read and also be aware of what was going on in the far reaches of the classroom.

This  has its downside in the form of OAD. OAD is Obscure Auditory Dysfunction and results in, ultimately, not being able to focus fully on a particular auditory event, among other things. My Auditory Function measures as well as anyone else of my age, indeed better than most, and yet I am unable to hear many things properly. Extraneous noises interfere. It doesn’t matter if it’s youngest son galumphing down stairs like a fairy elephant, a cat yowling outside, the kitchen machinery making an infernal row or just someone else talking, I just cannot hear what I want to hear.In addition I can only focus on one thing at a time these days so “She who thinks she must be obeyed” (aka Mother in law) does not always get my full attention when she telephones and I am trying to do something else upon which I have been concentrating.

On top of all that  our local DIY store has closed down. The whole company has gone kaput! A great bunch of people have lost jobs and  I now have to travel over a mile if I want to find even the smallest cross-headed brass screw. Okay, I believe in supporting my local hardware store and there is one, about a mile away, but having a local branch of Focus DIY just around the corner was very convenient and above all they workforce were like old friends.

This has been written as part of the Loose Bloggers’ Consortium Series. There has been discussion about whose links we should publish as not everyone is able to publish on a weekly basis. That has include me in the past by the way. The list I publish here is the old one and I attach the following warning: It is not guaranteed that every link published will lead you to more words of wisdom on this week’s topic. They will, however,  lead to some such musings and probablt earlier musings upon other topics. Take Pot Luck and find out. You never know, you may find a brand new friend.

Anu, Ashok, Conrad, Delirious, gaelikaa, Noor, Padmini, Ramana, Rohit, The Silver Fox Whispers, The Student Diaries, Will ,Nema, Paul , Plain Joe and Grannymar .

 

6 Responses to “Focus”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    I always have trouble hearing a conversation when in a crowded room. The loudest noise takes over, and sometimes the loudest voice is the most uninteresting. I like one to one so that I can really focus.

  2. Rummuser Says:

    I am glad to find another fellow traveler. I suffer too the inability to stay focused on one sound at a time and with increasing traffic on the road adjacent to our home, it gets more so every day. I tried to listen to music with headphones on but found that I could not hear the phone ring or the doorbell and gave it up. I manage, just about. but find that I am often irritated at unsought for noise.

  3. blackwatertown Says:

    Sounds a little like the selective hearing from which my son suffers/benefits. I occasionally try it out for myself. Keeps things simpler.

  4. magpie11 Says:

    Like selective deafness this can cause tempers to fray….. especially mine.

  5. Ursula Says:

    Magpie, I think you and your fellow consorters, of a certain age, are going to pot, to the wall. What’s wrong with you? Just get “into the zone” as my son would say. When something grips my attention I am so zoned I hardly know where I am; perimeters lost. Send a herd of elephants past me, a stampede of bloggers and I will ignore all of you. You do realise, of course, that there is a fine overlap between ‘focus’ and ‘concentration’: Little should distract us. And then there is always the off button.

    @Grannymar: I do feel for you: “.. those who shout the loudest” clearly a theme in your blogging comments. Join the chorus. You never know: You might turn out to be the soprano. I myself am an Alt, if pushed a Bariton. Gravitas. Gravitas.

    Hugs and kisses,
    U

  6. Looney Says:

    Magpie, this is a new concept to me. When I was young I was always pondering my work so that my wife and kids were like distant voices. It seems to me that I can focus on them better now, but they might dispute that. Something to ponder before we transition into the usual old phase of repeating the same stories over and over again.

Leave a Reply

