Crotchety? Moi? You bet your sweet bippy I am.

I get crotchety under different circumstances: When I mislay something and cannot find it. It’s worst when someone decides to help me look uninvited or tells me how to look.

Second is when I’m being organised by others or expected to follow a set of arbitrary rules.

Third is when I feel criticised needlessly. Either needless criticism or needlessly feeling criticised. The latter is historical.

I feel crotchety right now because I feel pressured to write this. If I don’t I may be wasting people’s time?

Now, let’s be  a bit less crotchety: I have often wondered what exactly a bippy is or was. Having heard the word on Rowan and Martin’s Laugh In back in my college days( who says that American’s have no real humour?). Having, almost naturally, used the phrase in the title for this I decides to look it up and found this piece of explanatory script from The Laugh In (about which I remember observing to an unamused friend that:”You can’t afford to laugh at a joke or you will miss the next one.”). Here’s what was made clear to the audience during one episode:

Dick: May the Good Fairy sprinkle stardust on your bippy.
Dan: Just a minute now. I’ve been meaning to ask you; what’s a bippy?
Dick It’s a baby bip.
Dan: Then what’s a bip?
Dick: It’s a big bippy.
Dan: Are you sure?
Dick: You bet your sweet bippy, I’m sure!

Carry on like that and I bet even Dan would become crotchety.

Oh yes; To avoid crotchetymess here is a list of members of the LBC who may well have contributed their thoughts on Crotchety to our collective wisdom (or other wise)::Anu, Ashok, Conrad, Delirious, gaelikaa, Noor, Padmini, Ramana, Rohit, The Silver Fox Whispers, The Student Diaries, Will ,Nema, Paul , Plain Joe and Grannymar .

3 Responses to “Crotchety? Moi? You bet your sweet bippy I am.”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    I thought you were a crotchety old curmudgeon! 😉
    Early or late I enjoy what you have to say.

  2. Rummuser Says:

    Good try Magpie. But, you still have some distance to travel before you can catch up with me.

  3. padmum Says:

    ‘Bippy’–now that sounds cool.In Tamizh drama we have these kind of plays where you laugh in the theatre at the one-liners…come home and you can’t remember one darned thing….and that has been the case since when I was young and has got nothing to do with my crotchety age.

Leave a Reply

