A Bright Sunshiny Day

It was a bright sunshiny day all day. The classroom had been hot and we had had the doors open to try and create a breeze. A good day really. A new school year, new things to learn and new pupils to get to know. On their part the new pupils had a new teacher to get to know, not always an easy task in this case.

Ten minutes past three came and the end of day bell rang. The classroom was packed up, books returned to drawers, chairs stacked in piles of six, letters to parents handed out and then the children were dismissed..
I wandered out of the door into the playground and stretched….. Tom’s father approached me. I had only known Tom for the few days since the beginning of term and his father for less but we had both found out that we both enjoyed the music of  Malcolm John “Mac” Rebennack, Jr , aka “Dr John”.
“Get to a television. Some-thing’s happening in New York! Come on Tom. We have to get home.” There was a peculiar catch in his voice. I walked around the corner and overheard Jane, a colleague, say,”I feel sorry for those people in the plane.” Her face was stained with tears.

That did it. I went to find the television and when I did I found several colleagues around it watching, hand to mouth, with an intensity I had never seen.

I didn’t hesitate, but left  school and headed home. A bus arrived almost straight away and I arrived home to watch unfolding events of an enormity I had never dreamed of unfold in front of my eyes.

I remember thinking, before it happened , that the towers could not survive. The combination of extra weight and fire would be too much pressure on the structure.

I will never forget the horrifying sound of  the falling structural components and, as one of the towers fell, the frightening sound of the fire-fighters’ personal alarms being triggered by the collapse. I will never forget the horrendous feeling of helplessness that engulfed me.

Since that day so much has happened: Nearly every government in the world expressed their sympathy (for want of a better word) and some connection with the U.S.A. Yasser Arafat, in a personal gesture of  sorrow and compassion gave blood to help survivors. Think of that: Arafat, sworn enemy of the U.S. as sponsor and ally of Israel gave blood in a gesture of brotherhood with the people of America. A possible chance to bring peace closer in the Middle East?

Yet the government of the U.S.A. , under George W. Bush and with the aid of Tony Blair and a pack of lies, managed to destroy all that international goodwill.

It did not take long for some people to start to propagate ideas of  a conspiracy by the U.S. government or its agents to commit these crimes. Sickening, deliberate misrepresentation of and misinterpretation of  so called evidence to fit their twisted and distorted ideas.

I sit here, on the 10th anniversary of this atrocity and my stomach churns in anger and sickness, not at the perpetrators of the act itself  but at the wilful betrayal of decency and the victims, above all of the victims, and their surviving relatives and friends perpetrated by these self appointed “experts”. Most of these people have no idea how to look at evidence and the rest ignore what does not suit them.

My heart goes out to the people who lost friends, colleagues and relatives in these attacks and my anger is reserved for those who continue belittle what happened by their ignorance and for those who used it as an excuse for global adventures that should never have happened, thus making the world a more dangerous place for the rest of us.

There is so much more that one can write on this topic but I am about to listen to a BBC programme about the effects of the crimes committed on September 11th 2001. it starts in Walthamstow, where I taught for 35 years.

4 Responses to “A Bright Sunshiny Day”

  1. Maria from Silver Fox Says:

    With tears in my eyes for all who have suffered and died, I say Thank you, David for your honest words.

  2. bikehikebabe Says:

    I was lying in bed on 9/11, our eldest son’s birthday, deciding maybe to get up, when Tom called. He says it was 8:20 (AM).
    “Turn on the TV” was all he said.

    In the Spring I was in Sweden in my granddaughter’s classroom. The teacher asked me to tell about 9/11, a lesson in English for the kids. I stood in front of the class to speak, but I started to cry. How embarrassing! But it also said everything in any language.

  3. Rummuser Says:

    Magpie, that is a poignant post and I relate entirely to the sentiment that comes through. The after effects of what Bush and Blair did, have not died nor are they likely to die soon. Despite all the brouhaha about taking out Osama, we have not seen the last of terror. You must be aware of its effect in our country and why I despair.

  4. Grannymar Says:

    I am in total agreement with you in this post. Did you hear John Humphries interview with Tony Blair the other day? I cannot remember which day as the week went in a bit of a blur.

    We also need to reassess our fancy dress day in November. We do not need half the armed forces and a stable full of horses on parade to remember those who lost their lives. We each can do so in our own way.

Leave a Reply

