There are an awful lot of bastards about.

This is an LBC blog. Yes, I have remembered to point out this fact at last. Apologies for not doing so recently. I put it down to my age.

This topic comes under the general heading of Ancestors which was suggested as a topic by   Delirious…. other members of the consortium are…. Akanksha, Anu, Ashok, Conrad, , gaelikaa, Grannymar, Magpie11, Padmum

Whilst discussing this weeks topic and the subject of genealogy (in a roundabout way) with a friend she said, “Beware of what you might find out. There are an awful lot of bastards about.”
That’s true and is probably one reason Ramana’s 51 year old and 16 year old got married…. Let us face it, back in  prehistory bastardy was probably the status quo. It remained so until some man (probably a man but it could have been a woman) came up with religion on a grand ( really?) scale and produced such things as The Ten Commandments…as one pupil wrote: “Thou shalt not kick a duckery.”
It is said that we can all trace our ancestry back to something like one of a very small number of females of our species. Probably they had their own selection of males…this is more often the case even today than the other way around I expect. How many bastards did each of them have then?

In my own family we know of  a couple of bastards. Namely my father and his brother as my grand mother never married my grandfather and, I have found out , she rejected them both when she decided to marry someone else. She hid her own ancestry from this man by taking my grandfather’s name and inventing a father of the same name. Well, it wasn’t quite an invention by her. In 1891 my great grandmother told the census return officer that she was the widow of Charles Crew. We can’t yet trace him so he may well have existed and actually fathered one Walter and my great aunt Abigail Blanche Crew who was born pre 1890. Now in 1891 my great grandmother had a lodger, Charles X (no not King Charles X). My grand mother was born in July 1892, note after great grandmother’s widow hood, and her father was Charles Crew, according to the birth certificate.

Like mother, Like daughter….

By the way.. we cannot find the marriage of my great great grand parents….

I thought that I was doing well when I found ancestors back in the 17th Century but have to bow to superior results on lady magpie’s line….her line goes back to the 13th Century and includes Edward II, King of England. Edward was tought to be homo or Bi sexual and Bishop Adam accused him of sodomy.
The link is via a family called Swale who apparently came across with William the Bastard of Normandy.
It gets better… F. Guyard says that there are 1,114 relationship links of Edward II to Charlemagne…. the closest being 17th generational. James D Allen records 186 paths with “certain” links but 5 265 links with a “much more permissive database”.

Charlemagne of the FRANKS (2/4/742 - 28/1/814
Prussia)
808978. [same as 34912] Pepin (King) of ITALY (Prussia 773? - 810
Milan)

Now that will surprise Lady M …. Pepin of Italy…

It is s aid that every inhabitant of the continent of Europe is descended from Charlemagne….and thus any one elsewhere who is of European or part European descent.

I wonder….. http://nltaylor.net/sketchbook/archives/9

9 Responses to “There are an awful lot of bastards about.”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    So, if you are related to Charlemagne and I am related to Charlemagne, we must be cousins. I wonder how many times removed we are?

  2. magpie11 Says:

    Enough? 😉

  3. Delirious Says:

    I’m pleased that you are looking in to your geneology! Keep at it, and the way will be opened up for you to fill in all the empty pieces. 🙂

  4. Rummuser Says:

    Perhaps 350 million people worldwide are alive today because of Genghis Khan’s libido.

    That is quite a lot of Asians! http://www.examiner.com/ancient-history-in-national/are-you-descended-from-genghis-khan

    Must have been quite a dude.

    • magpie11 Says:

      Ah! A dude: How do you conclude that he was well dressed, fastidious about his appearance etc?

      Now. I wonder just how many are descended from both Khan and Charlemagne?

      What the article about Khan omits to say is that it might just be that there were many of his camp followers who carried that gene.

  5. magpie11 Says:

    I am tickled that everyone is avoiding the subject of bastards.

  6. Maria Says:

    Nonsense, I am very interested in bastards and have not yet to find any in my search for ancestors. There are some seven month first babies, but no bastards yet.

    Although I have been happily away from LBC for awhile, this subject was perfect for me and I just finished a post about Ancestors

  7. Rummuser Says:

    Oops, my eyesight is failing me. I thought that you meant the great Indian Bustard.

  8. magpie11 Says:

    We had those here too and they are now being re-introduced…Great Bustards that is.

    “She who thinks she should be obeyed” tells about someone she used to visit when a little girl who one day announced, “I am your uncle.” She was never allowed to visit him again.
    Turns out that her maternal grandmother gave birth long before even a promise to marry…. the puzzle is: Who was really the father?
    We have theories.

    Something that always intrigues me is the stories that exist in many families of long lost riches. We have: A silk mill that was drunk away, riches, inherited by marriage, from the Romanoffs(there is some truth behind this one), land from Elizabeth Ist in Ireland(great grand father Mills was warned off trying to claim it and the papers were looted in the 1953 floods), just to be going on with!
    Of course, as we are all descended from Charlemagne, we all have a whole Empire that we should claim. The Holy Roman Empire!

Leave a Reply

