Benjamin Ferencz on Bin Laden

BBC Radio 4 broadcast a piece by Benjamin Ferencz on its Sunday morning news programme “Broadcasting House” this morning.

I must point out that Broadcasting House does not always take a mainstream approach to the News but it can always be relied upon to provoke thought.

Benjamin Ferencz may not be well known in my country (the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) but perhaps he should be. Although born a Romanian he was the chief U.S. military prosecutor at the Nuremberg Trials after WWII.

Today he told how he could not bring himself to shoot in cold blood a Nazi Concentration Camp commander.

If it is possible in other parts of the world his words are well worth a listen…. Broadcasting House BBC Radio 4  or  here.

Please let me know if you have any luck and what you think….meantime I may ask the BBC for a transcript.

5 Responses to “Benjamin Ferencz on Bin Laden”

  1. Rummuser Says:

    I am having problems. I look forward to the transcript.

  2. Rummuser Says:

    A point of view different from popular sigh of relief. Such post mortems do nothing to assuage the feelings of thousands of people who have been at the receiving end of Osama’s terrorism. I would simply call this, intellectual kite flying. The two situations, his own personal choice and the Seals, are not comparable in any case.

  3. Ursula Says:

    Ja, Heiliges Kanonenrohr (holy cannon hole): How did I manage to miss your posts, Magpie? Brill: Not again(!) – whatever next? Veg (since in middle of cooking can’t think of anything else this minute; onions don’t lend themselves to being abbreviated).

    Missed the programme. Just listened to it via your link. You know what I like: Passion. Heartfelt pure passion. Conviction. Like that of the photographer Simon Norfolk, and the amazing piece of intellect, Ferencz.

    You, Magpie, do know what I think and I can only thank you for drawing Ferencz to my attention. Bloody hell, hope I’ll still have his marbles should I make it to age 91. I bow to intellect – that which is not void of compassion.

    Ursula Bin Liner, The Pits, England

    PS though NOT an afterthought: Sorry your hopes for AV didn’t materialize.

Leave a Reply

