Film Fun………

The other day I asked a Lady of my acquaintance a simple question:”Of all the film stars you know of, who would you like to have been or be?” Now, this lady is bubbly and full of fun, shortish of stature and ..umm… a bit rotund. Okay, she always appears to me to be soft and cuddly and flirts like mad.

After a pause for thought she answered,”I think I’d like to be that one who was in Breakfast at Tiffany’s….Audrey Hepburn”

I suppressed the temptation to giggle and the lady’s mother, a slim and elegant elderly lady herself, who was sitting just behind her  put her hand to her mouth and stifled a snort.

There followed a short discussion and the lady in question suggested that her second choice would be “that blonde with the large chest”. It turned out that she was thinking of Jayne Mansfield. At this revelation her mother went almost puce!

Then the inevitable question was asked of me,” Who would you like to have been or to be?”

What was my immediate answer and why?

And please tell us who you would like to be and why.

13 Responses to “Film Fun………”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    I bet your answer was… “Myself!”

    Who would I like to be?

    From the past – Katharine Hepburn
    Present day – Helen Mirren

  2. bikehikebabe Says:

    From the past – Virginia Woolf. But I wouldn’t put rocks in my pockets & walk out into the river. I’d keep on writing in my wonderful style.

    Present day – God. I’d get rid of all boundaries of countries so there wouldn’t be anymore fighting over who owns what.

    Virginia was mentally ill & God would have more problems than just boundaries.

  3. Cheerful Monk Says:

    I wouldn’t trade places with anyone in the world. But if I had to pick a female movie star it would be Katherine Hepburn. She had a lot of character. If it were a male star it would be James Garner. He was basically a great guy with a sense of humor. I’m attracted to people with generosity of spirit and who don’t take themselves too seriously.

  4. bikehikebabe Says:

    Oh, movie stars. Senior moment with my other comment.

    Past–Katherine Hepburn because everyone else recommends her.

    Now–The little boy that plays the autistic kid in TV’s Parenthood. He’ll live the longest & I love him. (TV because I don’t go to movies anymore.)

  5. rummuser Says:

    Sidney Poitier. To Sir with love.

    Frank Sinatra.

    Michael Douglas.

  6. Magpie 11 Says:

    Mm! No-one has mine worked out…..

    Not Poitier….. My mother used to go a bit gaga over him BTW.

    Katherine Hepburn: Acting is the perfect idiot’s profession.

    or: Acting is a nice childish profession – pretending you’re someone else and, at the same time, selling yourself.

    Clever lady!

    Sinatra, if he was anything was never an actor….. But I did say Film Star

    GM: I’m sorry that you have such a low opinion of me…..

  7. bikehikebabe Says:

    The young Mel Gibson. 6’2″, big eyes of blue, nice hair, good build- muscular & a winning way about him. All the things you won’t admit to (which).

    For reference see some former comment, somewhere.

  8. Maureen Says:

    For yourself…. my guess is Gregory Peck

  9. Looney Says:

    Daffy Duck.

    Being an engineer, I also have a certain degree of empathy for Wile Coyote.

  10. Cheerful Monk Says:

    Looney,
    Well, if you’re going there the character I’m most like is the nearsighted Mr. Magoo. Not by choice but they didn’t ask me.

  11. Delirious Says:

    I always liked Katherine Hepburn because I like her spunk! 🙂

  12. padmum Says:

    Maybe you would be Dustin Hoffman or Robin Williams!!

    I would like to be myself. A film star’s life is the pits whatever we say about glamour, money, fame etc.

    BTW I have acted on stage and films and have bid goodbye to both. Nothing to write hoime about!!

  13. magpie11 Says:

    Looking back at this…. I cannot remeber who I actually said but it was probably Paul Schofield.
    A Man for All Seasons.

Leave a Reply

