Here, I am urged to enter a title…Why?


I recently received an e-mail from the good people at WordPress. It appeared to be full of statistics about how often I had written and who had read what I had written and how often they had read what I had written and similar “stuff” like that. They ended up by urging me to write some more in 2011.

Almost as a follow up I received notification of a post on her blog by Ursula . The news is good as she appears to have  recovered from various malaiseseses. She appears, however, to blame me for some sort of  fashion blunder, on her part. It involves Loons and David Attenborough. In addition she sings the praises of others’ Blogs.

The upshot is that I feel guilty about not having posted anything serious for some time. I just have not felt inspired. I haven’t (yet) expired I have just not been inspired.

I must share a story of which  I caught the end  on the radio the other day: I assume it went something like this:

Holmes had had the exterior of his Baker  Street residence redecorated. As part of the Colour scheme the front door was painted a certain shade of yellow. His friend, Watson, was not impressed: What have you had done, Holmes?” he exclaimed, “Why yellow?”

Holmes sucked upon his pipe, regarded his friend with what can only be described as pity and explained. “It’s a lemon entry, my dear Watson. A lemon entry.”

5 Responses to “Here, I am urged to enter a title…Why?”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    Of course it’s a lemon entry, my dear Magpie! Good to have you back blogging again. I have noticed with the turn of the year that many people have dusted off their blogs, perhaps it is a new resolution of sorts.

  2. Cheerful Monk Says:

    I’m glad you’re posting something serious again. 😉

  3. Ursula Says:

    Now listen, Magpie … What sort of a lemon was that?

    Squeezing,
    U

  4. rummuser Says:

    Welcome back Magpie. I am glad to see you haven’t lost your touch!

    Holmes be damned – that is a canary entrance if I ever saw one!

  5. magpie11 Says:

    Canaries? Norwich City FA… Soccer not being my favourite sport I know little about this or any other team. There used to be a team in King’s Lynn known as The Linnets and half way between the two towns (Norwich is really a city but….who cares just now?) : As I was saying half way between the two, on the A47, was a pub called The Canary and Linnet. (http://www.norfolkpubs.co.uk/norfolkl/littlefransham/lilfracal.htm) I remember this as a stop between Mondays spent at Norwich City College (as part of my contract with Dow Chemicals) and digs in Lynn courtesy of which I learned about various beers back in 1966.

Leave a Reply

