Wacky Ideas….people….

Hello everyone. It’s me! Back again after a partially enforced absence… I seem to have missed Bottles, Coincidences, Inspiration and Isms.

I think I must have lost my bottle and coincidentally lost any inspiration to write about any form of ism. Which must be, in itself some kind of ism.

So, today’s subject was suggested by me in a moment of fun. I never expected it to be taken seriously. After all that is,  itself, a rare occurrence.

Wacky ideas to do with people? Individuals often have wacky ideas about themselves I suppose. What can make this a bad thing is that others give them credence. David Koresh is a good (really?) example. I think I’ll stop there. Well, perhaps not. Koresh had wacky ideas about himself but the followers of many religious teachers are tha ones that seem to have the wacky ideas rather than the teachers themselves.

No names, no pack drill.

Having said that there is one, universal, wacky idea that people have about themsleves. It would seem that this is a function of being (so-called)  civilised. As far as I know it is not an idea that is traditionally held by Amazonian Indians, perhaps not even by some Amerindian tribes prior to European interference.

What is this wacky idea? I bet you can guess…

We have this idea that we are better than other animals. In some minds we are a special act of creation on the part of some creator.

All the evidence I have seen points to this being a fallacy.

We may well be different to other animals but better?

Wacky idea that!

I was up at the allotments the other day when I was sure that I had heard some one talking but here was no-one around. I looked around and then realised  that the sound was coming from my neighbour Trevor’s allotment.

Eventually I found the source. Trevor’s prize Rhubarb was muttering, “People, people,people, people.”

10 Responses to “Wacky Ideas….people….”

  1. Judy Harper Says:

    I love what the Rhubarb had to say! Even more, I think the person who actually heard the Rhubard talking could be classified as “whacky”! You know it’s interesting how each of us handled this subject, all of them good!

  2. Grannymar Says:

    Welcome back!

    I really enjoyed your mutterings!

  3. rummuser Says:

    Magpie, here is the original version Indian claiming to be totally uncivilized! It must therefore get me the Nobel for the most uncivilized Indian.

  4. rummuser Says:

    “Having said that there is one, universal, wacky idea that people have about themsleves. It would seem that this is a function of being (so-called) civilised. As far as I know it is not an idea that is traditionally held by Amazonian Indians, perhaps not even by some Amerindian tribes prior to European interference.”

    I have always wondered how the Amazonian Indians and Amerindians being called Indians to start with!

    • magpie11 Says:

      Ah! It was because Christopher Columbus thought that he had landed in the East Indies …. he was seeking a new way round to buy spices and silks etc and cut out the Ottoman taxes and so forth!

      For an awful minute I thought that you had heard the original story about the Earthman on the well….

  5. Marianna Says:

    The duality of life.

    Whacky as good. Whacky as bad.

  6. Zuzana Says:

    I think whacky ideas can be excellent ones, the best ones actually.;) Yet again, it depends on the circumstances.;)
    Thank you so much for your lovely visit and a very kind comment. Please do feel free to come by again, I love meeting new people.
    Have a lovely Sunday,
    xoxo

  7. gaelikaa Says:

    There is no race only the human race. But man is above the animals all right. We’re more spiritually evolved. Well…..we should be!

    Hope you’re feeling well.

    • Magpie 11 Says:

      Mm! Only one race? Burns talks of “the Pudding Race”! That is wacky.

      Above the animals? It is only because religious writers and teachers say that we are that people think that we, animals, are above the other animals.

      We assume that we are more spiritually evolved. We have no proof of this as we have no way of determining the spirituality of other animals. In fact, I sometimes wonder exactly what we mean by spirituality. After all it is a word that we have invented/developed ourselves just as beauty is a word.

      If someone asks me what I’d call spirituality other than spirituality I would probably simply reply that I have no need to so so I why should I bother?

      What is spirituality? Is a much more relevant question.

      I suspect that our “spirituality” is in fact an accident of evolution. Maybe due to our brain development?

      See why wacky we can get?

Leave a Reply

