Strange Creature

Well, they say there is no such thing as the Loch Ness Monster but I am sure that we were visited yesterday by its baby cousin from Chingford, London, ENGLAND

Can any one come up with a name for our visitor? Can anyone identify it?

8 Responses to “Strange Creature”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    Cutbert Cucumber is my suggestion.

  2. Ursula Says:

    Sneaky, the Cute Courgette – on a bend(er).

    “Baby Nessie gone veggie”.

    Magpie, do please – forthwith – enter this drop dead gorgeous monstrosity amongst the straight and narrow at your nearest gardener’s competion. You’ll win.

    It’s a fine example of “beauty being in the eye of the beholder”. I once yielded a tomato with attitude the deformity of which – for reasons of gaelikaa’s often cited decency and as not to titilliate Ramana – I shall not reveal in the public eye of this blog. Potatoes are quite good that way too. It’s what I love about gardening and non conformity: You expect one thing and find that which has you startled first and then makes you laugh. Naturally, the challenge here (for the cook) is in the even chopping.

    U

  3. magpie11 Says:

    That was given to me by Savas, my next door neighbour at the allotments. It is what he calls an Italian marrow. He had another one that was like a serpent wrapped around his neck. I felt an almost irresistible urge to try and blow it….

    Savas and his wife Maria are great neighbours. On my first day at the allotments he came up to and started to dish out advice. After about 90 seconds he looked at me and said,” Do you want my advice?” I told him that i had a fair bit of experience of gardening and know a lot about plants and the soil but i would always listen. I might not always follow. It’s interesting because he sometimes asks for my opinions.

    I love the way you make it plain exactly what type of deformity the tomato presented! Clever.

  4. gaelikaa Says:

    Looks reminiscent of a gourd. Hi Ursula, nice of you to remember me?

  5. Judy Harper Says:

    Hope you’re feeling better by leaps and bounds! Looking forward to your postings.

  6. Marianna Says:

    Over here, we call ’em zucchini.

    I like Ursala’s second suggestion: “Baby Nessie gone veggie”.

    In this age of “manufactured” fruits and veggies, it’s nice to see Mother Nature busking!

    Upon entering a market in the Caribbean, I was greeted with what I thought were disabled vegetables. In short order, I realised that this is what veggies are meant to look like; they come in all shapes, sizes and forms. (In our grocery stores everything is uniform & we have been somewhat brainwashed.)

    Thanks for keeping it real and entertaining! 🙂

  7. Margaret Says:

    Looks like a zucchini to me also. Whatever it is, it’s gourdous! Got a good laugh out of your neighbor’s advice story… everyone has gardening tips to share and I can imagine with your allotments side by side there is some competition going on.

  8. Mayo Says:

    it looks like what we call, across the pond, a gooseneck squash!

Leave a Reply

