Summer Surprise 2010

Well, as if to say “Welcome home,” a clematis that I have been nurturing for a couple of years decided to bloom today.

5 Responses to “Summer Surprise 2010”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    And very welcome home you are too! I love the colour.

  2. carla Says:

    What a beautiful flower!! Glad I happened by here today and glad that you are home and on the mend!!

    • magpie11 Says:

      Oh! Carla, I ddn’t know you read this guff of mine….
      I love the simplicity of this clematis. The picture doesn’t quite do the colour justice.It’s a deeper purple in reality. I grew a similar one in the same place years ago. That one was called The President. I can’t remember what this is called….maybe the same one.

  3. Ursula Says:

    Reminds me of the fleeting joy of Morning Glory.

    U

    • magpie11 Says:

      I have never been able to grow Morning Glories of the botanical type.

      I love the simplicity of this clematis. I also love the simplicity of species plants as opposed to Hybrids. Some of the latter can be beautifully simple but the “big, blousey and frilly is best” type of hybrid doesn’t really interest me. Fuchsias being the prime example. Some roses are like that and their only real saving grace is their perfume.

Leave a Reply

