Tears………..

I looked at this weeks subject and wondered what tears were referred to. I thought of those much vaunted “tears in the fabric of the Universe” and the tears in my clothes, gained whilst climbing trees or crawling through bushes and hedges, that led, inevitably to tears as I was berated by the sharp tongue of an angry mother and probably later received a clout from an equally angry father.

Then I forgot all about  this post until just now.

For some reason I was reminded, yet again, of  how a piece of music can tear into myvsoul reaching deep into myvbeing and causing floods of tears for no apparent reason.

Such an occasion I am sure that I have written about before.

I was staying with my grandmother for my half term holiday when I happened to hear Desert Island Discs. The guest decided that he wanted to “be reminded of Northern Winters” and chose Sibelius’ Second Symphony.

I stood in that small kitchen and cried my eyes out for no apparent reason………. a reaction that I still experience from time to time with this and other pieces of music.

Both my parents hated my tendency to cry when upset, hurt or angry….the tendency to cry with anger led, of course, to being bullied and teased mercilessly at boarding school. I am glad that Nicholas Cage felt able to say

“I cry a lot. My emotions are very close to my surface. I don’t want to hold anything in so it festers and turns into pus – a pustule of emotion that explodes into a festering cesspool of depression.”

9 Responses to “Tears………..”

  1. Judy Harper Says:

    I could relate to so much you wrote, I too, when angry, start to cry! Which is embarrassing and if you trying to respond in the business world, kinda deflates the impact of what you want to say! My daughter has this down pat though, she looks at the person and says, “You stand right there, I’m going to the bathroom to blow my nose, but I’ll be back to finish this conversation!”

  2. bikehikebabe Says:

    Let’s form a club. Me, you, Jean Browman, Nicholas Cage.

    We’ll allow Darlene (from rummuser’s comments) to join. She doesn’t know how to cry & we can teach her. She was a sickly child & everybody said, “She’s so brave.” So she had to live up to that image.

  3. bikehikebabe Says:

    I forgot Judy Harper & her daughter can join our club.

  4. Grannymar Says:

    Growing up crying was seen as a sign of weakness. My father was often heard to say about women crying that their bladders were very near their eyes! I did learn to cry after I got married, but it was usually with happiness.

  5. Maria Says:

    It is sad to think of a small child crying in Grandma’s kitchen over beautiful music. Of course, i know there was more behind the release of tears than just the music.

    David, I too have a strong aversion to bullies even to today. I don’t remember crying, but I do remember being chased home from school by some awful types. In the states, we have some newscasters that bully their guests. I cannot stand to watch them get away with their rudeness.

    • magpie11 Says:

      Of course, i know there was more behind the release of tears than just the music.

      I wasn’t that small…and it has to have been the music… unless I was upset by the idea of someone being stranded alone on a Desert Island..which I doubt, having read Robinson Crusoe and always enjoying being alone myself.

      I was asked why I enjoyed Sibelius’ music so much, “It is so English.” was my reply.. given the English attribute (Ha Ha) of the stiff upper lip perhaps it is the sheer release of emotion that does it for me.

      Put it together with Tallis’ Spem in Allium and Vaughan Williams Tallis Fantasia and you will see what I mean….

  6. Rummuser Says:

    Welcome to the human community. Great post Magpie.

  7. bikehikebabe Says:

    Magpie, this is why we love you so. You’re so smart. “Put it together with Tallis’ Spem in Allium and Vaughan Williams Tallis Fantasia and you will see what I mean…. ”
    I don’t know how to find Tallis’ sperm? Or is Tallis a type of sperm? Does the Tallis animal have a tail?

    • magpie11 Says:

      Oh dear… some people are incorrigible

      Not the sweetest viola sound but still not a bad reading

      I’m sure I have provided links to these before.

Leave a Reply

