Anniversaries

Who on Earth chose this subject for me to write about?

I have a problem with anniversaries….I cannot remember when the important ones are. Oh I can rememeber (most) birthdays, Christmas and New Year’s Eve. I can even remember my wedding anniversary, well it was on the same day as my late Uncle Walter’s birthday.

However I can’t remember those other important anniversaries in my  life:

The day I stuck a garden fork through my foot is one of them. I was about four years old and we lived near Lenwade in Norfolk. There wasan old piano in the yard and a garden fork. I decided that the yard needed digging and promptly put the fork through my foot. My mother smeared it with Nivea Cream and opined that it would be alright . Which it was.

My first day at school? No memory but I do remember the sandpit in the playground and Trevor having a LARGE toy truck to play with. I also remember sharpening a pencil and being sent to the Head master and being laughed at by “his” big boys. Remind me at some time and I’ll tell you about that.

I remember vividly being shut in the air raid shelter at Blean County Primary School with a girl, Celia(?), who wanted to kiss me. Ugh! It was horrible. But what date was it? I cannot recall. (or was Celia the girl who used to be so rude to the teachers and was once carried from the class room screaming “Git yor dirty mawkers of of  me.” (I still cannot find a meaning for mawkers). Any way. it seems that girls were forward even back then.

And all those house moves? From one place to another in the back of a Pantechnicon, a mattress made into a bed on the floor between two cupboards with another cupboard or a table top strapped across the top. A bit of an adventure I suppose. The dog curled up with us.  how many of those journeys we made I cannot remember  but my mother lived in at least 30 different houses in 26 years of marriage brfore my father had his motor cycle accident.

Then she hired a television.

I think it is these little anniversaries that we should remember…. important little happenings in ones life that help to form our personalities and make us what we are.

We may remember the events but the dates so often escape us, unless we are a self absorbed diary keeper. No I’m not going to spring a surprise and give you the dates involved. I have never kept a diary.

14 Responses to “Anniversaries”

  1. bikehikebabe Says:

    “…a mattress made into a bed on the floor between two cupboards with another cupboard or a table top strapped across the top.”

    I was going to comment but I can’t top this!

  2. Grannymar Says:

    You have had such an eventful life! No wonder you forget the dates.

  3. Rummuser Says:

    Wonderful to have such anniversaries. How interesting they are rather than the usual mundane stuff!

  4. gaelikaa Says:

    I’ve a few anniversaries like that myself. The first day at school, the first book I read – I don’t remember the date either!

  5. bikehikebabe Says:

    We know you Magpie (11), but now we know you better with some of your childhood background.

    “…my mother lived in at least 30 different houses in 26 years of marriage brfore my father had his motor cycle accident. ”

    What happened next?

    • magpie11 Says:

      He died…
      My mother hired a television..that was 1970! She died (as a result of scleroderma) in 1975…. My youngest sister had to live with us as ordered by my oldest sister who “Couldn’t leave her job in Halifax Nova Scotia”

  6. Maria Says:

    Your comment about wedding annyiversary and an uncle’s birthday made me smile. You see Bob married me on his birthday. He says it is so he will remember the anniversary.

    I remember events, but not the dates and sometimes not the year. I think it happens to all of us. Certinly enjoyed reading and like bikehikebabe said, “We know you Magpie (11), but now we know you better with some of your childhood background.”

    • magpie11 Says:

      I’m sure I have written this elsewhere but the point about my Uncle was that I had not known of his existence before my mother blithely said,”You had better invite your Uncle Walter to your wedding?”
      “Who?”
      ” Your father’s brother”
      My father heaving died a year before you could have knocked me over with a feather.
      It was only half way through the ..err…reception that Auntie Norah told me that it was Wally’s birthday!
      Life and its little surprises….I did not know that my father had a brother…let alone the half sibling I have just discovered.

      • bikehikebabe Says:

        I can’t comprehend that you didn’t know your father had a brother—& look at you now. I know for a fact that you are a walking encyclopedia. How did this happen?

  7. magpie11 Says:

    As it happened…due to their mother’s flightiness (like her own mother) they were brought up apart..neither by her as she decided to get married in 1917 and didn’t want the new hubby to know that she had another man and children. Her sister brought my father up and their father died just before the armistice in 1918!
    Complicated.

  8. bikehikebabe Says:

    You had me (I understood) until “their father died just before the armistice in 1918.” Wasn’t sure who “their father” was. NEVER MIND It’s hard enough to keep MY family straight.

    • magpie11 Says:

      The two Brothers..My father and my Uncle Walter… so My grandfather…

      There’s noting like my grandmother’s mother…she managed to have two daughters by a man from whom she was supposedly widowed and whom she doesn’t appear to have married and they were both born long after her widowhood! And that’s not all my great grandmother seems to have been capable of!

  9. bikehikebabe Says:

    Haha!– My family is boring.

  10. bikehikebabe Says:

    What I meant by “NEVER MIND It’s hard enough to keep MY family straight” is a matter of multiplying.

    Family reunions used to be aunts, uncles, & cousins. Now it’s the offspring of those cousins, …the offspring of the offspring…etc. I don’t know these people at my reunions.

Leave a Reply

