The Inessential Belongings that we collect

Well. Friday has come around again and I chose the subject for today for my fellow LBC writers.

Whilst thinking about the subject I asked myself why I had come up with this particular subject. It occured to me that, mother having been “frightened by a magpie” I have been an inveterate hoarder/collector almost since the day I was born. As I intimated in my first ever post my main collection is in my mind, a jumble of useless facts, ideas and opinions to which I am continually adding…………. did you know that the word “nip” in Norfolk means to steal?

“Where a you bin boy?”,

“Nowhere.”,

“Yes you hev. You a bin nippen old Mrs York’s Raspberries. Hint you?”…see what I mean? Useles…except to use here or talk to Dave on the Allotments. He do come from Norfolk.

The picture above is just a handful of bits that I have collected during the last ten years….. Here’s the challenge…that little collection has one theme in common, Your challenge is to work out what it might be and explain your reasons!!

It thought that that might be an attractive way to catch your interest. Of course some of you might be repulsed by the very thought of having a go.

This challenge is extended to any one who stumbles across or visits this site as well as the other members of The Loose Bloggers’ Consortium. (whom you should really visit): Anu, Ashok, gaelikaa, Ginger, Grannymar, Helen, Judy, Conrad, Maria and Ramana

18 Responses to “The Inessential Belongings that we collect”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    Items confiscated from school students?

  2. Rummuser Says:

    They are all inessential to your well being.

    • magpie11 Says:

      That might well be a region in a Venn Diagram classifying them but at least might be essential to my well being in some circumstances.

  3. Grannymar Says:

    1. Mechanical boxing toy that needs the wires to touch in order to work.
    2. Metal cap cases.
    3. Piping used in leather upholstery.
    4. Mini Skittles

    • magpie11 Says:

      1) No!
      2) no! the little caps contain/cover something that is connected to the other things.
      3) No! Mind you you would not recognise this strip unless you had removed it from a closure/seal
      4) No. But, I love the creativity…….

  4. magpie11 Says:

    Remember, I said I had left a clue…… In the end you will kick yourself!

  5. Grannymar Says:

    1. Inside of a doorbell
    2. draught excluder
    3. very old kitchen weights
    4. sweets

    • magpie11 Says:

      1) is on the right lines
      2) you have something of the right idea but the strips are bits of a longer strip out of something like a draught excluder but it is also a closure and seal.
      3) no!
      4) not these……

      You have missed number 5…

  6. Grannymar Says:

    1. A starter motor of some kind
    2. Covers on cooker nob controls
    3. A strip to seal.. eg round the door of a cooker or in a vacuum cleaner
    4. Ceramic baking beans
    5. Cover for a sharp knife.

    Is that a counter top or the new flooring.

    • magpie11 Says:

      Okay, no more clues!

      I want other people to have a go…what I will do id post another picture with better lighting.

      It’s the computer desk!

  7. Ursula Says:

    You didn’t ask what those items are, your question is what they have in common. What they have in common is that I haven’t got the faintest idea.

    All of them are small.
    All of them might be heavier/lighter than they look.

    By Jove, I’ve got it (and yes, you did leave a big fat clue, finding it is another matter):

    One: On your walks and other travails you come across mapgies’ nests and ‘nip’ one item of their bounty (though that theory does fall a little foul since I can’t see how a bird can transport a ball – but who knows: After all, humans managed to build pyramids and assemble Stonehenge before relevant machinery was invented).

    Two: You ‘nip’ bits and bobs from your local pub and other places you take Lady M to, including that which holds the menu together.

    Three: You have an allotment and occasionally find collector’s items flung over the fence into your little paradise.

    Four: You recently listened to Rossini whilst contemplating random collection of items Lady M wants to chuck out and/or your mother tried to prevent you from bringing into the house.

    Five: They all have a magnetic element.

    Six: You use them as devices to attract a magpie to your garden/allotment/balcony/verandah.

    Seven: You are leading your readers up a gentle garden path and then make us climb up a tree to find a magpie’s nest whilst pelting us with those assorted and carefully chosen items.

    Not that I have run out of ideas. But I’ll give it a rest for the moment.

    U

    • magpie11 Says:

      h! Someone read the question…..

      At this point I’ll not comment on your comments! Let’s see what others think.

      I do like your style tho’. Very creative.

  8. Geri Atric Says:

    Hi Magpie! Was intrigued by the invite you left on Grannymar’s to pop over and help you sort out your stuff!!!!
    Except now I see that there is no hope – a Magpie and ‘inveterate hoarder since birth’ – groan… where would I begin?
    I think if you are a Magpie – then I must be a Cuckoo… NOT that I would dream of chucking anyone out of their nest – but to be always fancy free without clutter to worry about, would be heavenly!!!
    As for this puzzle you have set … Umm…er…. everything is made of metal?
    No good at this at all. Got hiccups now… Forgive me. Looking at all those little bits-and-bobs has left me with the urge to dash off and throw something away!!!! (And also put the kettle on and have a nice hot coffee. Haven’t had one today yet. Maybe a biccy or two as well).
    Can I come back?

    • magpie11 Says:

      Hello GA (as opposed to GM) Welcome and please come back from time to time

      I was sure that I had already commented on your comment…But it seems to have disappeared…
      “The Cuckoo is a pretty bird. She singeth as she flies. She bringeth us good tidings and telleth us no lies. She sucketh the sweet flowers to keep her throttle clear and every time she singeth “Cuckoo! Cuckoo!” the Summer draweth near.”
      English Folk Song cleaned up for use in Primary schools(probably by Cecil Sharp!)

      I like the idea of the Cuckoo as a free spirit. Of course the Cuckoo’s nest is a myth, except in Folk Song where it has a particular connotation.

      As I write the cupboard in the corner of the kitchen has been emptied and all available surfaces are covered with all sorts of things…I wonder how much will be thrown out?

  9. magpie11 Says:

    Update…one person has hit the nail on the head In the Current field that is not very good showing!

  10. Grannymar Says:

    How long do we have to wait for the answer? 😉

Leave a Reply

