Lost

I seem to have lost a day…. I decided to check up on what the Topic for tomorrow’s LBC post is. I found that it is Lost, suggested by Grannymar. Next I went to her actual blog to peruse her weekly humorous offering, which she would have posted earlier today.

What did I discover? Well, it appears that tomorrow is actually today and today is actually yesterday. I know it doesn’t make sense but there you are.

I have now to sit quietly and think this through. The day before yesterday we travelled north to Manchester. Well we went to Altrincham where Lady Magpie grew up. We put up at a Bed and Breakfast establishment. The land lady is researching for a Doctorate. Something to do with the impossibility that Anglo Saxon documents could not have been the work of just one monk. There are only 24 hours in the day..well it’s something to do with this. Later we passed the time looking for addresses where Lady M’s ancestors lived with interesting results.

Yesterday morning we attended the cremation of the last of my father’s family, my Auntie Norah wife of my late father’s late brother whose existence I was never aware of until my mother told me that I had to, “Invite Uncle Walter to your wedding.” … within that bombshell there exists a whole novel. It was a small gathering. The staff of the Nursing Home where she resided over the last four years drew lots to decide who should be allowed to attend. I really think that they felt Norah’s loss more deeply than I. I barely knew her. Except to say that she really enjoyed the cooking sherry, not mush of which went into the cooking, when did it ever? Oh and she was a superb knitter.

Yesterday afternoon was spent tramping the streets of Manchester, visiting the Art Gallery, where we viewed an important exhibition of the work of Dorothy Bohm. I had heard of the exhibition but had not thought that I would view it. We visited Manchester Town Hall.

And so, we eventually came home. Lady M. having mislaid me for a while near Piccadilly Gardens . L S Lowry painted a picture of the gardens which at one time were always planted up with beds of flowers. That has been lost!

So, today I went looking for tomorrow’s subject…. only to find that tomorrow is really today. Thank you for being patient whilst I found again the day I lost yesterday. Now, I  have a day on which to fix the acquisition of the large blister that I have on my foot. The one I acquired whilst walking around Lady M’s old stamping grounds.

Now, where am I? Ah!

This has been my response to finding out what the topic was for today’s LBC Blog, suggested by Grannymar. Other members of the Loose (or is it Lost?) Bloggers’ Corporation are:

Anu, Ashok, gaelikaa, Ginger, Grannymar, Helen, Judy, Conrad, Maria and Ramana.

10 Responses to “Lost”

  1. Maria Says:

    Oh David, this has happened to me too often of late. I had “Lost” ready to publish before I went to bed last night so I knew it would be Friday when I woke up. Then I woke up thinking I should call a friend for lunch on Friday, which in my mind was at least three or four days away. I think it has to do with retirement and not Altzheimers or so I hope.

    Now I am going back and carefully re-reading and visiting the links on your post.

  2. Conrad Says:

    It is nice to see that someone else can become lost in time as well as space. Happens to me all the time.

  3. Grannymar Says:

    Never mind what day it is, does anyone know who I am, where I came from or where I am going?

  4. Ginger Says:

    Oh to be blissfully lost at the lovely places in which you were “mislaid.”

    Is that a tinge of jealously you’re noticing? Yes. Yes it is.

  5. magpie11 Says:

    My father had a saying… he used to puzzle me with it when I was little;

    Today will be yesterday, tomorrow!

    It drove me wild for several years as it didn’t seem to make sense. Then the penny dropped and a light came on.

    GM Try this!

    http://www.rampantscotland.com/songs/blsongs_going.htm

  6. Grannymar Says:

    Magpie – I remember that song well, if only I had the voice these days to sing it!

  7. Rummuser Says:

    Welcome to the club Magpie. If I did not have my DPA, I would get lost on a daily basis too.

  8. Ursula Says:

    Don’t worry, Magpie. I wake up in the morning and haven’t got a clue what day (never mind the date) it is. Sometimes my dreams are so realistic I don’t know whether I am awake or still in the land of snooze.

    It takes me about three months into a new year to register that it’s 2008/2009/2010 … Luckily I don’t use cheques any more; otherwise confusion and/or fraud would be rife. Lady M misplacing you was, I am sure, just a ruse to see if you could still find your way home in worst case scenario.

    I am fond of L S Lowry. Not least because my son chose (in his art class some years ago) to follow the leader by painting in the style of one of Lowry’s industrial sites.

    As to your now ashen aunt and her cooking sherry: Reminds me of the days, as related to me by my English mother-in-law, when one still had to go to Boots (that’s a chemist to American readers) to buy olive oil. Think about it, Magpie: Nowadays we are told to never COOK with any wine we wouldn’t serve at the table; yet your poor relation had to resort to imbibing that which wouldn’t have improved her casserole. How sad is that? Hope there was plenty of ‘cooking’ sherry at her wake.

    U

    • David Mills Says:

      Ah! There you are!

      I can remember the days of going to Boots the Pharmacy 😉 for olive oil.

      Back in 1959 my parents went off on a holiday by themselves (we were never a family for affording holidays really) My pompous Uncla nd his new wife (number 2 of that ilk) came to look after us. One day he decided to cook Spaghetti Bolognese “The proper way” and used some olive oil he found in the larder.

      On her return my mother learned of this and almost collapsed with laughter. She had bought the olive oil (at great expense I suspect) back in August (maybe before) 1946 to counteract stretch marks because of me!….. I have to say she loved getting one over on her older brother.

      Unfortunately Auntie Norah had no family apart from us (by marriage). No siblings, no cousins…no-one.. so no wake.

Leave a Reply

