I hate it when…..

People misuse homophones in their writing.

eg affect and effect

A recent example….”Having your tooth crowned will not effect your singing.” should read “Having your tooth crowned will not affect your singing.”

What is even more galling is that the perpetrator affects  a certain level of intelligence.

Grrr!

10 Responses to “I hate it when…..”

  1. Rummuser Says:

    Fair and Fare, Loose and Lose, Genes and Jeans are some that one sees often here even in respected journals. Editors too seem to be asleep!

  2. Mayo Says:

    I will try to remember not to use those words again.

  3. bikehikebabe Says:

    I see the lose & loose mistake often. How about to & too? I hate that one TO. YIKES!

  4. bikehikebabe Says:

    We love you Mayo. You’re allowed to use any words you want.

  5. bikehikebabe Says:

    Why do people speak of their emails? Email is plural. An email is singular. Do these people get mails or mail delivered to their home?

  6. magpie11 Says:

    That is an interesting observation….I’m trying to sort out mail (and subsequently e-mail) as a noun. It seems that mail doesn’t take the indefinite article. Do we ever refer to “a mail”.

    We certainly refer to an e-mail (an electronic mail ) so e-mails would seem to make sense.

    Perhaps we are witnessing the evolution of language.

  7. Rummuser Says:

    I keep getting a lot of email. I wish that I could get some shemail! Would that fit into a cockney joke?

  8. magpie11 Says:

    Don’t know….but my father used to say that in Cornwall everything on the farm was a he, except the bull and he was a she.

    No idea if it is true or not but it was always strange to be addressed as
    M’dear by a Cornish man in a pub!

  9. Grannymar Says:

    Magpie you mean like I did yesterday, with elementary instead of alimentary. But never worry one person who comments constantly pulls me up on my blog for such mistakes.

  10. magpie11 Says:

    Oh yes! The elementary canal. I once taught in an alimentary school.

Leave a Reply

