If I could be anything, I would be…..

This Friday Judy has given us the opportunity to fantasise, if we want to. It’s funny but as an inveterate day dreamer I actually found my self having difficulty with this subject and then I realised just what I would be……

Rich…….Rich……Rich……

Oh yes I would and it’s not a case of “If I was a Rich Man” .

No, rather it’s a matter of the  uses to which I could put my wealth …………. Of course I’d help my family, and I’d have a party and I’d buy myself made to measure shoes (after all I only have one pair of feet) but those are silly things, frivolities.

But, just think, think of all the things I could do all over the world. Think of all the good things I could do…..just think.

Come to think of it, I could work to solve all the world’s problems…. the question is: How? How could I do it?

I don’t think that many of you would like the answer I would come up with…

How would you do it? How would you solve the Earth’s problems?

On the other hand I might just choose to accept my lot in life…..

Do not forget to find out what my fellow Loose Bloggers would be …..if they could be anything: Anu, Ashok, gaelikaa, Ginger, Grannymar, Helen, Judy, Conrad, Maria and Ramana.


17 Responses to “If I could be anything, I would be…..”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    Are you standing for election on May 6th? You would make a great politician!

    • magpie11 Says:

      Why? I don’t see myself as a politician…I would want to keep my promises and to hell with the “establishment” or any other interest group!

  2. bikehikebabe Says:

    “If I could be anything I would be…” semi-immortal. I’d decide my cutoff date. I’d make you semi-immortal too. I’d decide your cutoff date.

    • magpie11 Says:

      Done already..I’ve passed my sell by date…mind you, like old fiddles i can be restored to play great tunes.

  3. Maria Says:

    Great post! Someone with my maiden name just won 285 million dollars in the lottery. I am ready to call him in Missouri and claim to be a long-forgotten relative. If he gives me one of his millions, I will share it with you. 🙂

    • magpie11 Says:

      Thank you for that offer. I remember once promising a memorable pupil of mine (back in 1974) that if I ever made a million pounds then I would buy her a Rolls Royce. I would too.

  4. bikehikebabe Says:

    The lottery winner guy had $49 in his bank account. Or was it $29. He’s going to get his teeth fixed. Didn’t look like there were much teeth left. Mostly parts were
    rotted off.

  5. Conrad Says:

    I am hanging here waiting to hear how you would solve the world’s problems! That would be so cool – except that you put an ominous twist onto it. I am intrigued!

    And … I also love that helping your family was a silly frivolity. Magpie, you are one tough cookie!

    • magpie11 Says:

      Well the challenge is there for you to say what you would do first.

      The frivolity was really aimed at the party…but yes all our individual family problems are frivolous compared with the problems of the world. Doesn’t mean that we don’t care though.

  6. gaelikaa Says:

    I remember reading somewhere that it is a wonderful thing to wish for wealth if you wish to use it to help of others. Bill Gates does that all the time.

    Who knows? Maybe you’ll get your wish!

  7. Ursula Says:

    Blast. gaelikaa beat me to it by her mentioning Bill Gates.

    As to your solution to the world’s problems: One comes to mind. But if I so much as gave an indication of what I think you are thinking I’d be finished for good. Struck off forever.

    Anyway, Magpie, of far greater and scientific interest to me this morning: Two cat fleas have found their way into a half empty glass of best Sauvignon Blanc left standing overnight on a side table. One [flea] is dead; the other is still swimming. Let’s forget about cruelty to fleas for a moment. All I want to know is how long it takes a flea to die of alcohol poisoning (since they are clearly not given to drowning).

    I shall let you know. Other than that I’ll think of you when handing in my lottery ticket later today.

    U

  8. Rummuser Says:

    Magpie, I would solve the earth’s problem by going the route suggested by Grannymar. If I got rich, I would become a politician and become richer and solve many of the earth’s problems. Ahem!!

  9. magpie11 Says:

    Re Gates…he needs to make amends…. a) he sold the idiot world an inferior product b) that product has always and continues to waste more energy than other better designed products.

    Sorry, I’m not a Gates fan…now If his descendants decide to use what riches their father made then good for them but not him. Same goes foe many people int he history of the world.

    Cat fleas? MMM ….. what stroke is the living one doing?

    Politicians? No along with religion they are the world’s biggest rogues/problems. They allow the Gates of the world to get away with the stuff they do!

    I’ll retire from the fray and whistle to myself.

  10. Ursula Says:

    Magpie, I have never quite understood why Bill Gates is so disliked (other than when you talk to devoted Apple Mac fans). I concede that Gates doesn’t appear to be the most entertaining companion one would choose to take to a desert island but you can hardly hold it against him that he produced something we all lap (!) up.

    Yes, the flea. I think it was a side stroke as far as I could tell. It’s amazing how resilient these little bastards are. In the end (after two hours) I decided to play God and just flushed the contents of the glass down the drain. Who wants to prolong agony? That’s why I would make a terrible scientist: Setting mice, rats and monkeys free to find their own peanuts.

    Am rather worried about your last sentence: You are not retiring from blogging to the sounds of a Bach cantata, are you?

    U

    • magpie11 Says:

      I do hold it against him that he produced inferior products and foisted them on the world. There is something of snake oil about it all.

      For me it is all to do with the ethics of the whole thing….. There are other, more energy efficient and time efficient ways to design computers on top of which there is the cynical marketing of , apparently, incomplete products and using the customer base as a test bed is wrong. Add to that attempts to stifle competition by various means….

      No.not giving up, I was just awaiting the flack if any. Much as I love baroque music I think I might retie to the strains of some Jazz or… Hildegard of Bingen.

  11. bikehikebabe Says:

    U said, “I would make a terrible scientist: Setting mice, rats and monkeys free…

    I caught a mouse by it’s foot in a mouse trap. I set him loose.

    I worked in the med. dept. at Yale. One student was submerging a live dog in ice water every day to measure body stuff. Broke my heart. Still remember the dog. He was black.

    • magpie11 Says:

      I am not sentimental about animals when it comes to their suffering but I would have suggested that the student immerse him/herself every day….

Leave a Reply

