Collecting and Collections….part the fourth

On my book shelf stands a row of some thirty five titles. They range from  Heraldry in England to A Book of Roses. From Misericords to Spiders.

This wonderful series of small, hardbacked  books extended to 76 titles published between 1939 and 1959… KIng Penguin Books were published in Britain by Penguin Books.

Many of the books have wonderful cover designs, although these were less used during the war period. After 1950 they were published with Dust Jackets.

Just a couple of examples of the wonderful covers of these books.

If you ever come across any then do not hesitate to purchse them…. they  can vary in price from £1-50 ( Lady M came home with somme the other day) to over £40 ( early first editions in very good condition).

You will be delighted and might even be able to sell them to me if you get fed up with them.

5 Responses to “Collecting and Collections….part the fourth”

  1. Annb Says:

    That’s such a lovely ode to books – I’m about to embark on a thesis: a competitive analysis of the market for e books, for a course I’m taking in publishing. This post is a beautiful example of what is sadly being lost in this brave new market full of Kindles and i Pads!

  2. Grannymar Says:

    I’ll keep my eye open!

  3. Magpie11 Says:

    Thnks GM …My pricing is a bit dodgy…on Abe Books
    ( http://www.abebooks.co.uk/ ), using “More Search Options” there were quite af ew at £00.65 +P & P….

    For anyone looking for an old book that is a great site.

    Hello Ann.
    How are things?

    We have lots of books…we have to be pegamtic due to space issues… we often buy Folio Editions, both for oursleves and as gifts. Both sons and our daughter in law love books even tho’ the eldest uses one of those machines.

    I’d love to be able to do bookbinding….

  4. Magpie11 Says:

    I meant PRAGMATIC!!!!

  5. Rummuser Says:

    I am an avid collector too Magpie. My taste is eclectic and I buy books based on something or the other I read in some publication, say a review or reference or on the internet. I do not however have anything remotely resembling what you have got there!

    I agree with Ann about the rapid changes taking place but would caution her that even in hard copy published books, they just do not make covers like these except in the very rare case. Modern paper backs and hard cover books share the same design on the top cover, for the latter usually a loose leaf folded sheet.

Leave a Reply

