Maturity….

Maturity describes the composition of grains in sandstones occurring from various amounts of sediment transportation. It occurs when the grains in a sediment become well-sorted and well-rounded due to weathering of the grains. …

What a gem of a definition….  Gem? Geddit?  Oh dear. I just hope Geology is your subject….

I apologise for that immature diversion.

The state of being  ready or ripe.

That’s another great definition… How many of my readers feel that they are ready and/or ripe, I wonder?

So, are you well-sorted, well-rounded, ready and/or ripe, like a great Port, Claret or Burgundy? Let’s not limit ourselves to these  few wines. How about a great Cheddar Cheese or a Stilton? Or perhaps a barrel of Scotch?

A wonderful wheel of Stilton: Note the even veining.

An Ascot hat, 2008. Created by Jean Ellis Designs

I don’t think that hat does anything for Stilton Cheese or for the Model.

How would you like to spend your maturity?

Me? Oh, sitting, feet up, in front of a wood fire, a decanter of fine Vintage or old Tawney Port , a bowl of walnuts, some good Stilton and water biscuits. Great music on the gramophone and a good book on my lap.

It’s good to dream.

Uh? What’s that? Did you have to wake me up?

11 Responses to “Maturity….”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    If you wake up…. I’ll share the wine and leave you the cheese. That hat is all out of proportion – only suitable for the Mad Hatter’s Tea party!

    Nice take on the topic.

  2. magpie11 Says:

    That was fast! Were you sitting waiting?

  3. Rummuser Says:

    How would I like to spend my maturity? If I ever get there, with that model thank you.

  4. Grannymar Says:

    I was indeed ready and waiting today.

  5. Maynard Says:

    I’m more realistic, I will take the cheese, the model is too tall for me.

  6. Maria Says:

    When you started out with sandstone, I thought, “There goes David birdwalking!” But you brought it all around again with the ripe cheese and perhaps just as ripe young model.

    Maturity for me would be for the world to recognize me as a Wise Woman. Oops, I can hear the laughter already. Ok, I have a long way to go, but a sign of maturity is knowing just that.

  7. gaelikaa Says:

    That sounds great, Magpie. I like cheese too. I wouldn’t insult it by using it as a hat, though!

  8. Ursula Says:

    Magpie, you never disappoint, do you?

    When I learnt about this week’s subject I thought to myself: If there is ONE LBCler who will, please dear god in heaven do me a favour, reflect on cheese it’ll be Magpie. And you did. Am I clever or am I clever?

    Anyway, to cut a long invitation short, should you ever find your way to the South Coast: You’ll bring the wine, I’ll provide the cheese.

    Which reminds me, slightly going beyond the pale: When I was little no one had fridges; larders facing north keeping everything as fresh as could be expected (how did we make it to 2010 without being axed by the dreaded lurky in the food cupboard?). There was a particular stinker of a cheese (no names mentioned) which would literally go walkies. It was what the word ‘horrendous’ was invented for. I can’t bear the memory of it. And that was before we found a broken neck in the mousetrap.

    U

  9. Magpie11 Says:

    I think I’ll have to change. I’m too predictable…well done U ! Mind you I bet you didn’t expect sandstone. I certainly didn’t!!!

    As for cheese that moves…I did see a picture of a piece of Stilton with mites… Interesting.

    If I was to be able to build my own house I would include a walk-in larder with stone shelves and stone floor… window would be covered with perforated zinc .. http://gallery.hd.org/_exhibits/textures/perforated-zinc-sheet-green-AJHD.jpg
    I would also include a cellar.

  10. Ursula Says:

    Magpie, You are not so much ‘predictable’ as ‘reliable’ – fine difference. And you did throw in the ever important ‘surprise’ element, in this case a gem.

    Your hankering after “a walk-in larder with stone shelves and stone floor” does betray what I believe you recently referred to as your Italian heritage. And I suppose the perforated zinc would keep air circulating round the cheese (and the wine).

    Yes, cellars. It’s a mystery to me, Magpie, why the English don’t dig a little deeper to create that extra space down below a dwelling. Such a waste of an opportunity. And, naturally, any of my visitors from mainland Europe will, sooner rather than later, enquire where the cellar is. Yeah, well, I don’t know. Ask me why food prices are so high over here; then we can reminisce about the butter mountain and exchange views on whether farming should be subsidised or not. And in no time everyone has forgotten that there is no cellar in the house.

    U

    • Magpie11 Says:

      Some Victorian houses have cellars…annd there are houses with basements.

      The larder thing is actually from childhood in various parts of the country (side). NO fridges or freezers in those days. And yes the perforated zince keeps air circulating and flies and wasps out. Again another throwback to child hood.

      The ideal would be a cellar. Consant temperature, constant humidity and dark! Couple that with a larder a good size garden to grow fruit and veg and a few other things like two foot thick walls. a green roof and heat pumps… some form of topia for me.

Leave a Reply

