I have many acquaintances but my true friends I count on the fingers of one hand.

Just another quotation from Grannie I though I’d share.

I understand that it was said by a Victorian Prime Minister interviewed on his death bed;

“Mr……… I expect you have made many friends in your life?”

“On the contrary. I have made many acquaintances but my true friends i can count on the fingers of one hand.”

Which one of Victoria’s Prime Ministers it was, I do not know.

2 Responses to “I have many acquaintances but my true friends I count on the fingers of one hand.”

  1. Ursula Says:

    Come on, Magpie, I don’t believe for one minute that you do not know.

    I’d put my money on Gladstone.

    U

  2. Magpie11 Says:

    Actually I don’t know….. and I cannot find out anywhere. The only person mentioned on the Internet who used it was the late Princess of Wales and I’ll not get started on that!

Leave a Reply

