An Object of Desire.

Today’s subject for the weekly LBC post was my choice. I have no idea what brought this topic to my mind but I take full responsibility for it’s choice. Mind you, I do not take responsibility for the writings of my fellow bloggers on this topic. Be prepared.

My fellow bloggers? Yes I must let you know who they are and trust that you will not fly off to read their contributions before you read mine, by all means do so f you wish..I won’t know:

Anu, Ashok, gaelikaa, Ginger, Grannymar, Helen, Judy, Conrad, Maria and Ramana.

Well, what is my object of desire? What would you expect to find as the answer to that question?

The Koh-i noor?

As it is now it is 109 carats of carbon crystallised in an octahedral form.

No Not the Koh i noor . After all it is cursed.

Perhaps a First folio of Shakespeare?

Noooo! I’d have to insure it and keep it under lock and key, probably in the bank. How can one enjoy something under those circumstances?

Have you thought of what it is I have in mind?

Many years ago I sent off for half a dozen bottles from John Harvey and Son of Bristol ( Yes that John Harvey…the one that produces the sweet sherry that goes under the name of Bristol Cream )

Included were: a 1960 Vintage port, a tawny port, an early Bottled sherry, a Palo Cortado sherry, a Madeira and last , by no means least, a bottle of 1946 Vintage Petit Champagne Cognac.

The total cost? £25.

The experience? Oh dear… the 1960 Graham’s Vintage  is just reaching full maturity… drinking it so young was a mistake. The early bottled sherry was wonderful. It had been bottled in 1958…where oh where can I find such a wine now? The Palo Cortado was a great experience, and I have drunk several examples of this dry sherry since. I adore Tawny ports to this day. I cannot remember the Madeira

Now we come to the Cognac. A cognac from the Petite Champagne region of single vintage (my year of birth), it was landed early in it’s life and matured in Harvey’s cellars and bottled in (I seem to remember) 1964.

Until then I had avoided Cognac , in fact all spirits, but eventually I decided to crack the bottle…I am glad I did as I was introduced to a sublime experience that continues to this day as I do enjoy a good Cognac or Armagnac. In fact the governors of my school presented me with a wonderful bottle of Armagnac, in fact my colleagues did likewise. Two bottles of just for retiring. Perhaps I should have threatened to stay and held out for more.

After all this what is it that I covet?

Delord Freres Armagnac 1915 (70cl)

I found this, produced in the year my father was born

T Hine & Co. Grande Champagne Cognac 1898 (70cl)
This wonderful rare Grand Champagne Cognac makes an ideal gift. This is the oldest Bottle of T Hine & Co Cognac for sale in the world today.

Hine Cognacs are wonderful, and they still produce Vintage Cognacs

Delord Freres Armagnac 1946 (70cl)
Made in the heart of the Bas Armagnac region, the nose is highly typical and fairly intense, releases warm aromas of vanilla, pepper, candied fruits, old leather and rancio (the sign of a well managed maturation). The flavours in the mouth are very fat and the balance is magnificent. You could find similar aromas to those on the nose: vanilla, candied fruits and rancio.

And I was born in 1946.

Of course Delamain Cognacs are pretty good too

Especially when presented in Baccarat Crystal and there’s only one left for sale at about £4,000…… and that decanter is special…they made 5,000 and only used 500 of them. It was a difficult design.

Would I drink any of these if I were lucky enough to own one of them?

In the words of Dan Martin,

“You bet your sweet bippy.”


8 Responses to “An Object of Desire.”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    You certainly have good taste! I’ll be free for the party! 😀

  2. bikehikebabe Says:

    I don’t drink. What a party pooper. But I’m forcing myself to take a gulp of red wine from Trader Joe’s everyday. Good for the heart. But terrible tasting stuff. It’s $3 a bottle, but only $2 in California.

  3. Rummuser Says:

    I bet my sweet bippy,

  4. Ursula Says:

    What I gather from your post, taking into accout that you were born in 1946 (so last century), that you smell of leather and vanilla. Which is enticing.

    Not sure about the rancor bit – sounds like rancid; or did you mean “rancoUr”? Whatever – you clearly have reached that all important point of “well managed maturation”. Not that I ever anticipated that I’d talk Cognac with anyone who purchases Bristol Creams. Still, I am sure it will have kept the vicar’s wife happy.

    The Delamain in Baccarat tells you all there is to know about wrapping. Give me a stylish box, bottle or container and I won’t care about the content.

    U

  5. gaelikaa Says:

    Enjoy!

  6. Ginger Says:

    Now I must come and visit. 🙂

  7. Magpie11 Says:

    Rancio…..
    http://www.tablematters.com/index.php/bottle-sections/bz/701-cognac

    would seem a good place to find out about it in the absence of the real thing.
    That box is made of leather, like the bellows of an accordion or concertina or a camera….

    I’m going to do some research about those aromas… base notes v. top notes etc.

    Ginger…you know what to bring with you!

    BHB…one doesn’t need to drink to enjoy a party or gathering….. These liquids are a party in them selves. I think a post is coming on…

    About that red wine….. try red grape juice ….. or spend a little more on the wine…it is worth it… learn to go through the process of tasting… look at the colour (some can be wonderful) look at the way the wine hangs on the side of the glass after gentle swirling. Get you nose in there and smell the aromas. Swirl it some more and sniff and so on…. reading between the lines TJ’ s “Two Buck Chucks” might not be of great quality. Ever. Not having tried them I can’t really say.

    Oh! Of it’s type Bristol Cream is okay…served over ice and with a slice of orange it’s interesting. As a blend sweetened with PX it works. It’s no TBA to be sure…but it doesn’t pretend to be. At least, my son tells me, it contributes finely to a good trifle. (pardon me while I nip off to be a little bit sick!!!)

  8. Ashok Says:

    David, my man, I have a feeling you and I are meant to be very good friends!

Leave a Reply

