The Perfect Life….. I should cuckoo!

I’m well past 60 and I can  still wonder what the perfect life consists of. I know most of the things I like and  a  lot of those that I don’t. I have almost fulfilled my only ambition…but that’s not necessarily what I want and certainly doesn’t provide a perfect life. The roof needs maintenance from time to time, the walls need pointing. It needs clearing out from time to time. So, even if everything else was absolutely hunky dory it could not be a perfect life.

Earthquake in Haiti. Hundreds of thousands killed. Millions homeless.

(click on headlines)

Here I am with the temerity to say that my life is not perfect with headlines like these appearing.

Show me a man or woman who says they lead or have led a perfect life and I’ll show you a selfish, self satisfied …..person!

And that is being polite!

HUMPH! As the Camel said!

22 Responses to “The Perfect Life….. I should cuckoo!”

  1. Ursula Says:

    “Show me a man or woman who says they lead or have led a perfect life and I’ll show you a selfish, self satisfied …..person!

    And that is being polite!”

    My sentiment entirely, Magpie.

    U

  2. Rummuser Says:

    Humph from me too.

  3. Conrad Says:

    Hey, curmudgeon! PERFECT!

    • Magpie11 Says:

      Just had to look it up to check exactly what it means…found this…so thanks for the compliment!

      A curmudgeon’s reputation for malevolence is undeserved. They’re neither warped nor evil at heart. They don’t hate mankind, just mankind’s absurdities. They’re just as sensitive and soft-hearted as the next guy, but they hide their vulnerability beneath a crust of misanthropy. They ease the pain by turning hurt into humor. . . . . . They attack maudlinism because it devalues genuine sentiment. . . . . . Nature, having failed to equip them with a servicable denial mechanism, has endowed them with astute perception and sly wit.
      Curmudgeons are mockers and debunkers whose bitterness is a symptom rather than a disease. They can’t compromise their standards and can’t manage the suspension of disbelief necessary for feigned cheerfulness. Their awareness is a curse.
      Perhaps curmudgeons have gotten a bad rap in the same way that the messenger is blamed for the message: They have the temerity to comment on the human condition without apology. They not only refuse to applaud mediocrity, they howl it down with morose glee. Their versions of the truth unsettle us, and we hold it against them, even though they soften it with humor.

      – JON WINOKUR

      My Oxford Dictionaries are a lot less comlimentary however.

  4. Grannymar Says:

    The situation in Haiti certainly puts our lives into perspective.

  5. Judy Harper Says:

    I think a perfect life here on earth would be boring. Nicely said!

  6. Maria Says:

    I agree with Grannymar and with you that the situation in Haiti certainly pus our lives into perspective and makes us appreciate the life we have in this moment of time.

    Conrad called you a curmudgeon and I had to smile and agree, but I will add “a very lovable curmudgeon. The teacher in me understands the “almost fullfilled ambition” statement. Am I right? Is there a little fear of hanging it all up and retiring hiding in that remark?

    • Magpie11 Says:

      Being a curmudgeon must take years of practice….I have been compared with the fellow (whose name I forget) from the BBC Series “One Foot in The Grave”

      It’s a word which seesm to go back to 1577 I think. One of my great weaknesses is that there is noting of the miser in me….one meaning.

      I have retired from teaching and we are still paying the mortgage…my mother having lived in so many houses (at least 30 in 26 years) my ambition was always to own my own home. The only other thing I wanted to do was grow things….and no-one will give me an allotment.

      I do miss the buzz of the classroom at its best.

  7. Maynard Says:

    Having a perfect life is realitive. I try to hide my imperfect life with humor, which always back fires on me. Thanks for bringing me back to reality.

  8. Ursula Says:

    Yeah, Magpie. I see what you mean about the Shorter Oxford. Terrible. And there I was getting all excited about Jon Winokur’s definition thinking I too may qualify as a curmdgeon (what a gorgeous sounding word), with you and me being the founder members of a most worthwhile club.

    U

  9. Magpie11 Says:

    Jon W actually has a point when I think about One Foot in the Grave and some characters in Last of the Summer Wine!

    What about the female Curmudgeons in the latter series?

  10. Ginger Says:

    Amen. The world is perfectly imperfect. We wouldn’t hope for paradise if all were, as you say, “hunky dory”.

  11. gaelikaa Says:

    Everything is relative. Too true. But still……

  12. Cheerful Monk Says:

    Sorry, I’m not a curmudgeon. I’m a cheerful pessimist who agrees with the sentiment, “Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.”

    Even better is Bob Hope’s, “If you haven’t any charity in your heart, you have the worst kind of heart trouble.”

  13. Cheerful Monk Says:

    Of course it may be I’m so cheerful because I never wanted to be bothered owning a house. 😉

  14. Magpie11 Says:

    I’m not always unhappy…I do actually believe that you have to be unhappy before you realise what happy is…or is the other way round.

    It wasn’t the house I wanted but the feeling of security it offered. It has helped our sons tho’.

    Bob Hope? He’s one of ours isn’t he? Like Chaplin!
    Just think If people like Chaplin had stayed here then perhaps Shoreham by Sea would have been as successful as Hollywood!

  15. Cheerful Monk Says:

    “I do actually believe that you have to be unhappy before you realise what happy is…” I believe that too. One fellow who studied happy people years ago, long before it became fashionable, noticed that the happiest people hadn’t had easy lives. They just valued happiness and adjusted their attitudes. I was lucky enough to be depressed for a while when I was a kid and decided I was going to figure out something better. Nothing like feeling completely dead inside for a while to motivate oneself for the rest of one’s life!

Leave a Reply

