Humor (or in English: Humour)

OMG…it was in Drafts after all

My baby’s come home!

Ashok, Conrad, Gaelikaa, Helen, JudyMaria, Ramana , Anu ,  &   Ginger Haag are the other current members of the Loose Bloggers Consortium. Some of them may not be able, with famiily commitments, to contriibute to the fun this week. However I will take this opportunity to wish them the Pleasures of the Season. And may I tender the same wishes to you, my readers, as well.

I suspect the reason for the choice of subject today is obvious: It is January 1st 2010 and it would be a good idea if we could all begin the new decade in a good humour.

New Decade? No, the next decade starts on 1st January 2011. I thought that we had sorted all that out around 2000 AD…. in cricket a century only starts with the scoring of the first run. The same rule must applies to time…the first century AD started on January 1st 1… so it must be for millennia and decades…but I digress..

My intial  assumption about Humour (in American; Humor) soon took a back seat and I thought of the four medical humours frrm early medicine: Blood, Phlegm, Yellow bile (or choler) and Black bile (or melancholly) …these sound gruesome to me but linguistically provide some interest. Next I remembered my biology and the humours of the eyes, namely vitreous and aqueous humours, the one behind the lens and the other in front of the lens and the Crystalline humour, which is in fact the lens of the eye itself.

My wandering (or is that wondering) mind happened upon the idea of state of mind (not mine of course as there are those that would argue that I have none). In earlier times the state of ones mind was said to be dependant upon the balnce of the humours as mentioned earlier.

For those of an inquiring mind, or could that be “of an inquisitive humour”, typing in to you favourite search engine (aka Googling)the phrse “definitions of humour” gives rise to some interesting results. Webster’s 1913 Dictionary has five definitions, illustrated by some nice quotations. I do love old dictionaries and their definitions.

But ever onward. I suppose that it is incumbent upon me to fit in with the probable intentions of  the topic. So, I hope I can leave you with a smile upon your face.

The two friends, let us call them Conrad and Maynard, had spent an enjoyable day rambling in the hills and turned to make their way home. Their pleasure in the beauty of the countryside and in each other’s company had made them loose track of time however and it was not long before darkness over took them.

(when someone uses a phrase like that my imagination runs away… I don’t think I have ever seen darkness with legs…)

The looked around them and in the the near distance they saw a light and decided to make for it. Eventually they came upon a farmwith a light shining from a naked window.

(imagination again)

They knocked upon the door which was duly opened by a woman of  uncertain age. She was handsome in a rugged sort of way and smiled at the strangers at her door.

(She could probably afford to smile as she most likely carried a shotgun under her arm)

Our heroes explained their plight and she invited them in, offering them the opportunity ot sleep upon her living room floor after first sharing her supper with them.

The three spent a pleasant evening during whihc it emerged that the hostess was a widowed lady who ran the farm single handed and made a good living in the process.

After a night cap of home distilled liquor they all said their goodnights and settled down to sleep. The two friends sharing the rug in front of the fire.

Morning came and the widow fed the two most royally. Never had bacon and eggs tasted so good and our heroes spent some time doing chores around the farm before setting off for home.

Time past and Conrad and Maynard forgot their adventures in the hills until one day, about nine months later, Conrad received a letter in an official looking brown envelope.

He read the letter and set off hot foot to his friend’s place of business.

Bursting through the door he gasped out hiis questions,” Do you remember our ramble in the hill nine months ago?”

“Indeed I do. A wonderful trip it was too.” his friend replied, smiling.

“And do you remember the farm and the widow who gave us supper and shelter?”

“Oh yes. I should think so.” smiled his friend.

“And, during the night, when I was asleep, did you leave the fireside and go upstairs and spend sometime with our hostess?”

“I’m afraid to say I did. I just couldn’t help myself, ” confessed Maynard.

” And did you tell her that your name was Conrad and give her my address?”

His friend could hardly contain his laughter and spluttered, ” Why yes! Why do you ask?”

“I received this letter today. …”

“Yes yes?” snorted his friend, obviously in a state of high good humour.

” Well, our erstwhile friend has died and…..left me her farm in her will.”

A Happy, Humorous and  Kind New Year to you all.

7 Responses to “Humor (or in English: Humour)”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    Well worth the wait!

    Now I await the comments from the boys!

  2. Conrad Says:

    LOL The only that doesn’t ring true there is me getting the farm!! Somehow, Maynard would get that and I’d get to pay the inheritance tax!

  3. Conrad Says:

    Duh, edit last remark to “the only thing that doesn’t ring true”.

  4. gaelikaa Says:

    Is this a way of saying that Maynard is not up to the mark in some respect? All in jest of course?

    I always found that aqueous and vitreous humour thing very amusing as well.

  5. Rummuser Says:

    David, it is like being back in an English pub listening to you over a pint of the best. I am not surprised at the discomfiture of Conrad. He is quite right that Maynard is likely to do precisely that.

    Gaelikaa, I hope that Maynard does not read your comment!

    • David Mills Says:

      Well it is a traditional tale from somewhere or other that I heard a few years ago. I can never remember the names.

  6. Marianna Says:

    I stand corrected re. the beginning of a new decade. Maybe that’s just as well for reasons that I will keep to myself.

    Like your other definitions of the word humour – “u” in Canada. 🙂

Leave a Reply

