Rudolph’s New Bell.

Ashok, Conrad, Gaelikaa, Helen, JudyMaria, Ramana , Anu ,  &   Ginger Haag are the other current members of the Loose Bloggers Consortium. Some of them may not be able, with famiily commitments, to contriibute to the fun this week. However I will take this opportunity to wish them the Pleasures of the Season. And may I tender the same wishes to you, my readers, as well.

The broad theme for today’s post is seasonal…. Giving and this has proved something of a problem for me.
From an early age we were taught that it is “More blessed to give than to receive.” but, since the end of the 1960s it seems that Christmas has been presented to children as a time when they can expect to receive, receive and receive.

I fell to wondering what it is that one can give that is of most value. After all everything seems to have a value put upon it in this day and age. I was reminded of the story of the Widow’s Mite (Luke 21: 1-4). And did not Jesus tell the rich man to sell everything he had and give it all to the poor? I often wonder just how many so called Christians would ever do just that.  Some religions even set the amount that the followers are supposed to give. I thought about gifts that I have given and received.

I was stumped…..until this morning when I told a friend the  story of something that happened yesterday.

I always find Christmas hard for a variety of reasons and I regularly suffer from what I call Christmas Blues…there  must be a song there… however I do have one saving grace and that is an inveterate sense of humour. Well, that’s what I call it. This got the better of me  yesterday and I decided to pass a gift to a friend who runs the greatest little bookshop in the world. Bev is, herself, a joker as you may fiind out if you look at the shop’s website. She positively encourages humour. I decided to take her one of the bells pictured above but give  it to the staff to hang around her neck so that they “would hear her coming”.

As we walked along the railway platform to catch the train down to Chingford (the end of the down line) the bell jangled in my pocket.

“That must be Father Christmas,” said a Grandmother sitting with her two young grandchildren waiting for the train.

“No” I said, ” This is a new bell for Rudolph. If I can’t get it to him he won’t help Santa pull his sleigh tomorrow and there won’t be any presents. Rudolph does like to have a proper bell before he will even think about helping Santa.” and I jangled the bell.

There was wide eyed astonishment and Grandma interjected,” Oh, I do hope you get there in time.” (what a great grandma).

“Mmm! I have to get to the North Pole and so I’m getting on a train that is heading north. But what I’ll do when I get to Chingford I don’t know. I may have to walk.”

The elder of the two let his jaw drop., “I want a model Eurostar train and two Eurostar Tickets for Christmas,” he said.

“Well, I’ll let Santa know if I manage to get there in time. Have you two bought presents for Mummy and Daddy and Granny and Grand pa?”

Eager nods.

“Sh! Don’t say anything. She might hear.”

Fingers on lips and shakes of heads.

The train came and we got on. The two children dragged their Granny towards the front of the train.” We have to be up there near the driver” she explained.

We arrived at Chingford, alighted and walked to the Exit. There waiting for us were two young children and a Grandma.

“Just making sure you get this far” winked Grandma.

“Well, I thought that I’d go to the Post Office and ask if they can deliver the bell for me,” I kept my fingers crossed that they wouldn’t want to come with me.

Phew! They were going out of the other Exit.

We waved goodbye.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I hope he gets his tickets to Bruge and that his sister gets what ever it was that she was trying to explain that she wanted in her toddler speak.

I told Bev about it this morning and she smiled, looked at me and said, ” Ah! Lovely. There’s a book in there!”

What has this to do with giving? I realised that one of the greatest gifts we can give is pleasure.

By the way…Is there a book in there?

Have a Good Yule.

6 Responses to “Rudolph’s New Bell.”

  1. Rummuser Says:

    What is blue about it Magpie? You were a wonderful messenger for the kids and you gave yourself to them. You also made a lot of people in the book shop, the whole lot of them look cheerful to me, happy with the present. What a fantastic gift. I wish I can think of somethings like that to gift!

  2. Magpie11 Says:

    Where does one start? There are personal reasons: one being that I don’t actually remember Merry Christmases as a child… okay, this year I resurrected the original Christmas lights that my father bought, back In 1953… but I have my doubts about their safety. But I think the main reason is that as a teacher I got fed up with the stresses and strains of the Christmas Production and all that fuss.
    I honestly don’t know why.

  3. Conrad Says:

    David, whatever the cause of your blues, what you did here was marvelous and I hope contributed to a new set of emotions for you – because you just made the season for a couple of kids!!! It seems to me that is striking quite a blow against the dark.

    Giving with such an open, sincere heart must open it to new possibilities. What warmth and joy that is mine to send you I send. But, you’ve been getting that from me for awhile and requires no season!

    Merry Life!

  4. Judy Harper Says:

    Too me, Christmas isn’t usually my favorite holiday. I like Thanksgiving better. I always feel sad about Christmas as well. Not sure why. This year I decided to go to my daughters at Christmas rather than Thanksgiving, I’m having a great time. Though after I got here, I remembered why I usually go at Thanksgiving! Snow! 8 inches of snow! Good post, and what a sense of humor. That’s how I view you, a person with a sense of humor! Merry Christmas David! Hope you have a great day! I’m having to share my daughters computer, so I’m not able to blog and read as much as I would like.

  5. gaelikaa Says:

    Merry Christmas, Magpie! I love your stories!

  6. Grannymar Says:

    Posts like these are the reason I GAVE you the push….

    to start blogging.

    Happy 2010 and way beyond!

Leave a Reply

