Lawyers

So far I have not had much need for lawyers in my life….

Ponder this:

A man I met told me that he was a lawyer and that all lawyers are liars and never tell the truth.

Should I believe him?

 

Do not forget to visit the other Bloggers in  the group for their writings on this topic. Ashok , Conrad, Gaelikaa, MariaMarianna, Ramana, Grannymar , Judy & Helen

10 Responses to “Lawyers”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    It is not what they say, but the way they say it!

  2. bikehikebabe Says:

    There are bad lawyers & good lawyers, morally speaking. Ashok will be the latter.

  3. Judy Harper Says:

    I’m going to disagree, as my brother is a lawyer and I know there are times he’s truthful. I’m sure there will be like Grannymar says, “Sometimes it’s how they say it!”

  4. Rummuser Says:

    My experience with lawyers so far has been reasonably satisfactory. I of course keep hearing about some nasty ones but so do I about doctors and teachers and salesmen!

  5. Magpie11 Says:

    Mm! People seem to have missed the point…. if he’s a lawyer he’s a liar so I can’t believe him when he says he’s a lawyer. But if he’s not a lawyer he is lying anyway so I can’t believe him. But if he’s a liar then I can’t believe him if he says he’s a lawyer.

    Ooh! My poor head..

    I was first asked that question by a teacher at school and I still haven’t worked out the answer.

  6. Ursula Says:

    Magpie, obviously the guy wasn’t a lawyer since, in my experience, lawyers are the only professionals who NEVER lie which is not the same as saying that a defense lawyer does not bend the truth – by way of using words cleverly – to get his client off; after all that is what he is being paid for. Just as the prosecution has to go for the jugular whether they believe the accused to be guilty or not.

    May the poor man in your example cover his tracks since he is likely to be sued for libel. And what will he need then? Precisely.

    U

  7. gaelikaa Says:

    Your take is yet another – those of this group who wrote the post have all done it differently!

  8. Conrad Says:

    Magpie, what a clever use of the liar’s paradox.

    It can be lawfully, logically resolved, by the way. But, the only system I have seen that does it is the use of fuzzy logic – which most people think is a reference to imprecision, but is actually a system to account for degree of truth of a proposition.

  9. Ursula Says:

    Conrad, are you sure you aren’t a lawyer?

    U

  10. Magpie11 Says:

    Ah! Someone recognised it for what it is… The discussion that gave rise to the question so many years ago was about paradox and what we mean by that.

    Mr Brian Williams was one of our House Masters at school ….French teacher who smoked Gaulloise and introduced me to the wines of Vouvray on my first and only trip over the English Channel. He was always up for a discussion about almost anything.

Leave a Reply

