Heroes

The latest in the Loose Bloggers’ Consortium posts. Do not forget to vist the other Bloggers in  the group for their “takes” on this topic. Ashok , Conrad, Gaelikaa, MariaMarianna, Ramana, Grannymar , Judy & Helen.

When, a few weeks ago now, I decided to suggest this topic I had been listening to a radio programme which prompted the idea. I cannot for the life of me remember what I was thinking of writing about. I know I had a BRILLIANT idea but it has  flown the nest.

I have to start again and what better way to start than seeking  a definition of the word hero:

1 a : a mythological or legendary figure often of divine descent endowed with great strength or ability b : an illustrious warrior c : a man admired for his achievements and noble qualities d : one that shows great courage
2 a : the principal male character in a literary or dramatic work b : the central figure in an event, period, or movement
3 plural usually heros
4 : an object of extreme admiration and devotion

( I don’t hold with the plural heros though…Mind you it makes sense…why do we bother with excessive use of letters? Mr Webster had the right idea…simplisfy spelling..there you are, a  hero)

In this day and age, with radical feminists behind every bush, perhaps the idea of a “principle male character” is out of date and we should be using the word hero to mean persons of either gender?

We all have our own ideas of what makes a hero and we see from the definition above that the word can be used in a number of ways. I suspect that most people would (given suitable adjustment to include the female gender) would go along with 1c : a man admired for his achievements and noble qualities.

This begs the question as to what constitute noble qualities? Honesty, courage, compassion, selflessness, thrift, generosity, wisdom, fortitude…I’m sure that you can add to the list.

We can debate endlessly on what it is that drives the hero to heroic acts but one thing all true heroes seem to display is humility. For the true hero the act or behaviour is natural, born out of upbringing, religion or what ever drives them.

The true hero is not boastful or arrogant about his actions nor self-serving in them.

So where does that leave us? Who are my personal heroes? I don’t think I ever saw my father as a hero nor thought that I had ever met one. On reflection I do have a hero, an unsung hero, about whom I choose not to sing for various reasons.

What I will say is this: My hero exhibited something of immense value at several times in their life and not least towards me.

That something? Charity…love if you will.

14 Responses to “Heroes”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    Magpie, you do it all the time. Once again you leave us with a cliff hanger!

    Thank you for choosing this topic, I enjoyed it more than I thought I would.

  2. gaelikaa Says:

    True heroes have humility! That’s the thought I take away with me from your post. This was an amazing topic and a great learning experience.

    Are you a collector of shiny objects dear Magpie. Ramanaji is wondering if you are! Did you see his comment on my Consortium post of last week?

  3. Judy Harper Says:

    When I first saw Heroes as the topic, I thought, besides TV and famous heroes, who can I talk about? It gave me pause and a lot of thought. I came up with my Dad for one. He overcame so many obstacles in his life, yet he was around for me. Thanks for the topic, it made me think. I enjoyed your post. I understand about having a thought and then it flying away.

  4. Maria Says:

    Magpie,
    I am a feninist, but not radical. The old fashioned word heroine when spoken reminded me of the drug heroin. So I think hero covering both genders is the best way to go.

    Since reading your post, I have mulled over in my mind the connection between Charity (Love) and heroism. Your writings have brought insight into the meaning of hero.

  5. Marianna Says:

    Beautiful. Simple is best and what can be more simple than charity (love).

    Your life is so much more the richer, I’m sure, for the ministrations of your unsung hero.

  6. magpie11 Says:

    I’m glad that you enjoyed the topic folks…. I wish i could rememebr what I wanted to write about originally.

    I came to the keyboard with some idea of writng about Father Aiden Troy but was distracted.

    The thing about the hero I was thinking about is that their real heroism is completely unsung. Their heroism towards me was just that, for me.

    As for shiny things…I deliberately left the question unanswered…after all, what is it that shines most in the world?

  7. Rummuser Says:

    Magpie, your profession comes through in your writing. I suspect I have an idea of what you had in mind when you suggested the topic. Could it be a reunion of some sort?

    The unsung hero would not be me would it Magpie? Too much to expect?

  8. Ursula Says:

    Magpie, what is one person’s hero is another’s shooting target.

    The subject you have raised is devilishly complicated. It’s also made me realise that whilst there are many people in my life who I admire (including myself – so much for your praised humility) I don’t have a hero. I have searched high and low within myself since the consortium has published; in the end all it boils down to is that there are people who have enriched my life, people I appreciate in all their multifaceted ways – and that’s it.

    U

  9. Annb Says:

    Lovely post as always Magpie. Coincidentally, my 9 yr old has some very interesting points to make on superheroes back at my place! It’s both witty and wise!

  10. Magpie11 Says:

    My current profession is that of a retired old codger (which could well be tautological)….

    No reunion at all …. hero I referred to is dead. I was thinking more of those who are heroic but never recognised as such.

    Ursula, I know it was a complex topic…we are, after all, complex beings due to our nature. This ability to communicate with what we call language has many consequences for our species, and all the others with which we share the planet.

    Ann…why don’t you get the 9 year old to publish, via you?

  11. Helen Says:

    I enjoyed your post and the topic very much; I’m laughing at Annb’s comment about her child and your reply. It would have been very interesting indeed to have my children write on this subject! I may still. x

  12. magpie11 Says:

    Hi Helen..thanks…There must be a way we can get youngsters blogging safely…

  13. Grannymar Says:

    TeenCamp Ireland was run for and by Teenagers with support from adult BarCamp folk. I have met a few of them at Barcamp and the Irish Blog Awards. Very talented young folk they are and deserve encouragement. The youngest young lady there was about eight. Her parents were there also.

    A little info about them: http://teencampireland.com/

    BarCamps happen in the UK so I am sure they have TeenCamps also.

  14. Ashok Says:

    A very fresh perspective towards the topic. I especially liked the emphasis on humility.

Leave a Reply

