Breakfast

Don’t forget to lookup my fellow bloggers in The Loose Blogging consortium: Grannymar, Marianna , Conrad, Ashok ,Ramana and Maria

First some homework. Go to this link and listen until you have the tune firmly set in your brain.

Now we can proceed with the lesson:

Here are some new words for you to learn and sing:

I must eat when I am hungry.

I must drink when I am dry.

I must laugh when I am happy.

Eat my breakfast every day.

Eggs from Evanses.

Ham from Joneses

And a Lovely cup of tea…..

And to finish…… More verses …. PLEASE!

I have to thank “She who thinks she must be obeyed”  for this. My in-laws owned a pub back in the 1970s and welcomed many a singer and musician to their fireside.  Chiefest amongst these were Folk Musicians and Singers who would come up with their own versions of well known songs. Earlier this week I was on the ‘phone with mother in law (She who thinks…) when she mentioned the version of this ditty that was sung in honour of their Hostelry, Ye Olde Royal Oak at Wetton in Derbyshire. I just changed some of the words.

11 Responses to “Breakfast”

  1. Rummuser Says:

    You have stumped me. I expected an English dissertation on the institution of breakfast and you have come up with an inspired piece. My compliments. Yes, that tune will haunt me for a while.

  2. Grannymar Says:

    ‘Guide me’ will never be the same again! I love it.

  3. Marianna Says:

    That’s the second time, (since I’ve known you) that you’ve turned, not tail, but tune!

    Your teaching roots are showing, you know.

    I suppose you’d like us to add our own voices to the verses?

  4. Conrad Says:

    You have changed my mood in one fell swoop! And that may indeed be the most important element of breakfast, setting the day’s mood.

  5. magpie11 Says:

    I just think that some new verses could be forthcoming…. just for fun.

    Marianna, when I retired i received a card from our Ed.Psych the sentiment of which I treasure.
    Picture on the front of a man pointing to the cat’s litter box and reprimanding said animal, “I have told you before. Do NOT think outside the box.”
    Inside Leslie had written, “On the contrary, David, keep thinking out side the box. You do it so well.” at least one person was willing and kind enough to recognise me as I am.

  6. Maynard Says:

    I’m going to listen to that song Sunday while eating my breakfast, then I will not have to go to church.
    Thanks, that was very good! I enjoyed it!

  7. Maria Says:

    Absolutely wonderful and fits the subject to a tee. I love hearing your mother-in-law called, “.She who thinks she must be obeyed As the mother-in-law to an assortment of rag-a-tag daughter-in-laws, it made me wonder what title I hold. LOL

  8. bikehikebabe Says:

    I sang your words to that hymn. Was much better than the hymn’s words. I loved it!

  9. magpie11 Says:

    Singing is good for us they say …so altogether after three…

    Maria,
    My sister in law (learning disabled in similar way to Susan Boyle) called her “The Dragon” at her (s-i-l’s) 50th birthday “do”… I hate to think what my mother would have been called had she lived longer…. “Bat” as in “interfering old…”
    I’m sure any nickname would be affectionate and with a touch of truth.
    At 89 I suspect that “She who repeats herself” is more appropriate for Lady Magpie’s mother now.

  10. magpie11 Says:

    Oh yes… East London kids cannot pronounce my surname correctly…Mr Meeals as opposed to Mills..so they called me “Meals on Wheels”…when they were being polite.

  11. gaelikaa Says:

    I think that went over my head completely. It often takes a while for me to cop on to stuff. I’ll be back again to see if I can get it next time!

Leave a Reply

