Hands……

My initial idea shall have to wait as another superseded it. I have had a little bet with myself about which I will tell you,  at the end of this post.

Meanwhile please visit the LBC cohorts: Grannymar, Conrad, Ashock, Rummuser and Marianna for their takes on this week’s topic.

DurerKatharina1521FlorenceUffizi450

I see surprised looks on faces. Isn’t this just a beautiful, gentle and sympathetic drawing?

The Artist? Albrecht Durer  May 21, 1471 – April 6, 1528…. has the penny dropped yet?

Hare

Above is another of his works… A Young Hare… look closely and marvel….

Turf

What skill we see…..

And it goes on…..

280px-Durer_self_portarit_28

The man himself.. a self Portrait.

“Hands? ” you say…you could study the hand of the artist that is visible in the portrait…. but this is where it started for me:

Hands of the Apostle

Hands of the Apostle

Probably one of the most reproduced images in the history of art the first time I saw this I was captivated by the detail and sensitivity (though I would not have used the latter word in those days) and I kept that card, sent to me by my Grannie) for many years and sought out other images by Durer.

I still have that love of great drawing to this day. All thanks to a picture of a pair of hands.

The bet…I wouldn’t be at all surprised if someone else  uses this picture as well.

28 Responses to “Hands……”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    I searched for that picture without success. Now I am glad I didn’t find it as I could never do it justice like you did.

    That Young Hare is amazing! I want to stretch out my hand and stroke it!

  2. Marianna Says:

    “Has the penny dropped yet?” question had me off on another tangent…one far from how beautifully you’ve done justice to this topic.

  3. Conrad Says:

    As with you, this indeed is one of my favorite drawings. And, as we age, sensitivity no longer frightens us as men. It strengthens us.

    Very nicely done!

    But, I have to ask you: Why was I the only sucker that fell for your humor request? LOL

  4. Magpie11 Says:

    I knew someone would think of the Durer picture…and my money was on you GM. I suspect that you’d have gone in a different direction, just tha different.

    What tangent was that?

    I’ts easy to be creative when someone else has created the stimulus….

    Have a look here, everyone:

    http://www.artyfactory.com/art_appreciation/animals_in_art/durer/albrecht_durer.htm

  5. Magpie11 Says:

    I just stuck the humour request in to broaden the topic?
    I tried hard to find a Hands joke and couldn’t…so well done…
    I once taught at a school called Handsworth…. the headmistress…a woman of indeterminate age with a bit of a stoop and nicotine stained fingers, used to give a talk once a year in Assembly on “What are Our Hands Worth?”…aargh!

  6. Magpie11 Says:

    I remembered this:

  7. Annb Says:

    “Between my finger and my thumb
    The squat pen rests.
    I’ll dig with it.”

    From “Digging” by Seamus Heaney.

    The nearest thing I could find; to convey the dual manual and creative labours of our hands. Thanks for those exquisite images.

  8. Grannymar Says:

    I love that last link!

  9. Conrad Says:

    Oh, that Rachmaninov has big hands piece was hilarious!

  10. Steph Says:

    Excellent!

    Enjoyed the ‘big hands’ too. Well remembered!

  11. Ashok Says:

    I am not very familiar with the art world, but those were some very impressive works. Creativity is something which can never be valued enough 🙂

  12. Alice Says:

    I’ve enjoyed all the hand stimulated creative pieces beginning with Grannymar’s. I’m glad you thought of it as “stimulus.” I’m already thinking of one for myself, she said, feeling like a copycat!

  13. Marianna Says:

    Oh, I thought maybe it was going to be an optical illusion, similar to what is evident here: http://mathworld.wolfram.com/YoungGirl-OldWomanIllusion.html

    Look hard enough and you may see the hands contained within.

    Apart from the last one, it’s obvious that I am unfamiliar with Durer’s work.

    Conrad, you are to be admired! “Sucker?” Not at all – I think humour is by far the hardest medium to do. You have a talent for that!

  14. magpie11 Says:

    Ann

    Thanks for the Heaney Quotation…. I like that.

    Marianna

    These days I can never see the old woman in that illusion. I know she’ s there because i used to see her sometimes but now it’s just the young woman…age?

  15. magpie11 Says:

    Um…
    Mae West

    Give a man a free hand and he’ll run it all over you.

    There is this one….

    Three men were standing side-by-side using the urinal.

    The first man finished, zipped up and started washing and literally scrubbing his hands … clear up to his elbows … He used about 20 paper towels before he finished. He turned to the other two men and commented: “I graduated from Harvard and they taught us to be clean.”

    The second man finished, zipped up and quickly wet the tips of his fingers, grabbed one paper towel and commented: “I graduated from the University of California and they taught us to be environmentally conscious.”

    The third man zipped up and as he was walking out the door he had a smirk on his face and said: “I don’t know about you guys, but where I went to college, they taught us not to pee on our hands.”

  16. magpie11 Says:

    John says to his friend, “My Mary and I, we are always holding hands.”
    “Why do you do this?” asks his friend.
    “Because if I let go, she shops.”

  17. Grannymar Says:

    What did you have for breakfast today? 😆

  18. Magpie11 Says:

    The usual….just thought that search for jokes might turn up something!

  19. Grannymar Says:

    I enjoyed them!

  20. Annb Says:

    “If you’re going to live from Hand to Mouth; you’d better be ambidextrous”

    Dolly Levi from the movie “Hello Dolly”

  21. Conrad Says:

    Now we’re talkin’!

  22. Rummuser Says:

    At the outset, my apologies for the delayed commenting here. A terrible oversight, primarily because your post appears an hour after ours do. Shall ensure that this does not recur.

    This post is breathtaking in its creativity and content. I suspect that you hd this post in mind before you announced the topic! I suppose that all of us do. My compliments to you.

  23. Magpie11 Says:

    Sorry about the time blip…I though GMT (or whatever they call it nowadays) was a sensible time…

    Actually was thinking of something completely different when I suggested the subject. I was thinking of a wonderful creative strand we had with one class, pre the (accursed) national curriculum.

    I asked the children to draw their dominant hand using the other one… so if they were right handed they had to use their left hand and Vicky Verky. Next we looked at a skeletal hand (human) and tried to find pictures of other hands…not easy pre internet…. then we had to write about hands in any way we wanted to…that gave rise to some wonderful poems and stories as well as factual pieces. I had to write too.

    After that the children were allowed to choose what they did as long as it was based on hands..this was very revealing now I look back…a dyslexic boy made a model hand out of rolled card board and string…A few children surveyed as many hands as they could round the school and played with the data….IIRC they were trying to find a “standard” hand. A pair of horse mad girls wrote about and drew horses and tall things horsey…so it went on.
    At the end of the week thay all presented their work to each other and other classes. A pity the Inspectors didn’t come in to school that week.

    Thinking back, If I had really thought it through I could have covered every area of the curriculum in some way…

    For music I don’t think we would have sung ” You need hands to hold….”

  24. Grannymar Says:

    That last comment is worth a post in itself. There is a lesson for all of us in it. You are always thinking ‘Outside the Box’!

  25. Grannymar Says:

    Oh! GMT = Grannymar Time! 🙄

  26. Rummuser Says:

    That is an amazing thing that happened with the children. You must be full of such inspiring stories and I dread the next topic that you will come up with.

  27. Magpie11 Says:

    Shall I let you know early? 😉

    Thnaks for the undeserved compliments but that was only teaching. There was a time when we had a freedom to educate in the U.K….rather than teach to the test and to the prescription of the National Curriculum.

  28. Grannymar Says:

    Ramana, that is why I pushed him to start blogging. This guy has not even scratched the surface yet with his stories! I wish he had been my teacher.

Leave a Reply

