Email? A synonym please…

During a recent communication via the internet I wrongly used the term “epistle” to describe an email I had sent.

I was taught that the word “epistle” was a synonym for “letter” . Another synonym for letter is “missive” , I cannot find any more

It struck me that something like  Paul’s Email  to the Confusions is not really suitable so I ask

Can anyone invent a suitably impressive synonym for an important e-mail?

missive

9 Responses to “Email? A synonym please…”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    Brief Communiqué is the best I can come up with today.

  2. annb Says:

    You have a slight conflict of register here Magpie, the newer format E-mail can be formal or informal whereas an epistle is normally a formal long letter on a serious subject.
    A missive is also an official letter. I wager that’s why St Paul in his wisdom, and with the manners, no doubt bestowed on him by his mother, chose the epistle over the Email, as he felt it was more suited to his subject matter.

    To cross pollinate the three would doubtless result in an E-missive or perish the thought, an E- pistle?

    Maybe it would be better to send a text?

  3. Magpie11 Says:

    Thanks GM

    annb….Brilliant! Thank you! 🙂

    E-pistle… wonderful!

    missive in my dictionaries is just a letter or written message…

    I suppose E-mission would be taking it too far?

  4. annb Says:

    I think perhaps an E-mission might just have you biting off more than you can chew!

  5. Conrad Says:

    E pronounced as long e:
    mEmo? mEmorandum?
    mEssive?
    mEssage?

    Lordy. What’s wrong with mE?

  6. Rummuser Says:

    Eelter.

  7. Alice Says:

    E-pistle gets my vote! Weren’t we voting???

  8. magpie11 Says:

    No voting …just ideas please.

    Welcome, Alice…

    Isn’t an Eelter where fish worshippers celebrate their sacraments?

  9. Rummuser Says:

    I was intrigued by your response and googled for eelter and see what I found! http://www.docstoc.com/profile/eelter

    Does not seem to be anything else about the word. I simply started it with e and shortened the letter to elter.

Leave a Reply

