Love…..

Conrad, Ashok, Grannymar and Ramana have kindly invited me to join their circle and so I am having a go. The idea is that we all post on a chosen topic  ao the sane daya t the same time.

Do not hesitate to vist their blog s for their various thoughts on theis week’s topic.

My immediate reaction on reading that this week’s topic is LOVE was to panic, big time. I then grabbed some books of the works of Khalil Gibran and Rabindranath Tagore where I found a plethora of qutoations to inspire me. Howevever, I was still not satisfied.

Then I realised I must say what I think, what I believe, what I know from my own experience from the day I was born. The sum of my experience thus far.

To be loved is a great and wonderful gift but to know and understand that we are loved is a greater gift.

How else are we to begin to know and understand how to love in our own right?

How else are we to begin to learn about love and loving?

16 Responses to “Love…..”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    To be loved is a great and wonderful gift but to know and understand that we are loved is a greater gift.’

    How true!

    Now there you go, it was easy, wasn’t it!

  2. Rummuser Says:

    Brilliantly brief. All that correcting of essays has given you the Muse sitting over your shoulder. I look forward to your continued Friday Consortium postings.

  3. Conrad Says:

    Terrific beginning! So, know that you are loved. It is that love that comes from others involved in a co-venture, from those who knows what it takes to do this. And – you did it VERY nicely.

  4. magpie11 Says:

    It worked!

    Thanks for the comments.

    So much has been written by so many that I couldn’t really find anything that is new.

    There is a quote from a 19th lady novelist on a similar line ….but I can’t remember which one and I only found it yesterday.

  5. Ashok Says:

    Being conscious of the presence of love in our lives is the greater challenge, definitely. So much said in so few words, mighty impressive. Glad to have you on board and look forward to many more posts on your blog 🙂

  6. Jean Browman--Cheerful Monk Says:

    I enjoyed this post. It reminds me of a quote by Raymond Carter:

    And did you find what you wanted in this life even so?
    I did.
    And what did you want?
    To call myself beloved.
    To feel myself beloved on this earth.

    I find that when we feel deeply loved we can’t help but want to share it with others.

  7. Maynard Says:

    Magpie 11,
    Welcome to this crazy group. I’m that one that you will learn not “to love”. Being that you are new, I will not pick on you for one day. but then all H— will break out. Just kidding.
    Thank you for your post on love. I’m still trying to find it, but these guys won’t give it up.

  8. Deb Says:

    I don’t post a lot but had to here. That was beautiful and quite touching!

  9. magpie11 Says:

    Ah! Go on with you, I’m blushing now…just back from a day at
    Kew Gardens (aargh…can’t find how to link in a comment) http://www.kew.org…. Yes GM more flowers and plants…
    Thanks for your comments all….
    Ashok….first time in my life it’s been suggested that I’m a man of few words….miracles do happen.
    Jean….I don’t know of Raymond carter so haves some homework…but It’s true to say that loving one self is so important…. I’m sure that Francois Sagan has a quote about this self knowledge .
    Maynard…what are you looking for? Love? It’s like happiness. It’s not to be sought but rather found along the journey. Sometimes thay are found together…
    Deb…I’m glad something I said moved you.
    Now to look at those pictures from Kew.

  10. bikehikebabe Says:

    My mother was not the huggy kissy type. But I know she loved me deeply. I can’t believe I said this, but I asked my aunt (her sister) if Mother loved me. What was I thinking?

    “…but to know and understand that we are loved is a greater gift.”

  11. Grannymar Says:

    I look forward to the photos!

  12. magpie11 Says:

    BHB…you were probably thinking the same thing I constantly think about my parents…particularly my father. As for my mother she once told me that if it had ever came to a choice between my father and we children she’d always have chosen him.

  13. Marianna Paulson Says:

    Your post reminds us that modelling, right from the beginning, is so important in one’s development.

    I’m reminded of the stories we hear about the issues that arise in children who have spent most of their young lives in orphanages, rarely receiving a hug, a cuddle or words of endearment and encouragement.

  14. magpie11 Says:

    Marianna,
    True…. I’m reminded of the upper classes in Britain…Marry, breed and then the children were brought up by the Nanny and Governess. Come to think of it…that’s basically what government has encouraged everyone else to do….breed, dump the child(ren) into child care and nursery and later school…

    My father was brought up by his Aunt…a cold person if ever…her sister had deposited him on her and his father was killed in WW1 ….. his Aunt would have noting to do with her husband as he once pinched a chambermaid’s bottom…Salvation Army!

    I cannot remember either of my parents hugging me…ever…I remember the constant put downs. Hopefully I learned from them.

    I do remember a teacher hugging me once….couldn’t do that today…

  15. Grannymar Says:

    Hugs were unknown in our home too. Kisses were ‘duty’ things you gave old aunts.

  16. magpie11 Says:

    Old Aunts, Grannie and that was it!..oh babies too!

Leave a Reply

