Advice to a new father…

When the eldest magpie child was born, when there were still proper shops in our neck of the woods and only a couple of cafes and only two Estate Agents, I was like the proverbial cat that had been at the cream.

I told everyone and every one had their piece of advice. Do this! Do that make sure … ON it went.

We had a very good relationship with our local “Horticultural Supplier” who had a shop on the Railway Station forecourt. We bought our seeds and fertilisers, our tools and compost, our canes and raffia from this emporium. The shop was run by two generations of the same family.

Well, at the first opportunity I stuck my head in and said,” It’s aboy! And we’re going to call him Tristan.”

“Congratulations!” intoed the head of the family,! I Hvae just one piece of advice for you.”

My heart sank….

“Don’t listen to anone else’s!”

He was right. The best advice I have ever been given!

6 Responses to “Advice to a new father…”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    I’d say find someone you trust to ask for advice and ignore all the rest!

  2. rummuser Says:

    Amen to the best advise that you ever got.

  3. magpie11 Says:

    GM…Yes, I understand what you mean but he was so right in his thinking. Everyone else had been saying,” Do it like this.”, “If I were you…” and so on. He just knew what was happening. Also, I realised that he was referring to unasked for advice.

    R…I see you understand the situation. I tend to learn by watching how people do things and then trying myself…except in formal situations.

  4. rummuser Says:

    A funny thing on your original post. It says ” 0 Comments”!

  5. rummuser Says:

    Now it has the correct figure! May be my whining did the trick!

  6. Magpie11 Says:

    Curiouser and curiouser.

Leave a Reply

