To be placed upon my coffin, a dandelion

When I peg out my body has been left to science and if it’s not good enough I’ll have it buried somewhere where It will do some good…under a tree somewhere I think…

Placed on my coffin I want one…note one only…dandelion flower!

Apart from being intrinsically beautiful there is another reason….

When I was about eight years old I used to stay with my grandmother at Mundesley on the North East Norfolk Coast. She had a cottage facing onto the main road with a garden in front. We had our own garden at home and my mother used to pay me a penny for every 12 dandelion flowers I picked…weeds you see.

Up the alleyway behind grandmother’s house there were a few cottages without gardens. In one of these lived a girl (I can not remember her name)with long auburn hair.

We were poor, I realise now, but these people were poorer.

One day this girl approached me and asked if I would like to see her flower. of course I agreed.

Delighted, she ran off and returned with a baked bean tin…Heinz of course…in the tin was stuffed a dandelion plant in full flower. I looked at it.

“That’s not a flower,” I sneered,”It’s a weed.”

It was several years before I realised exactly why she burst into tears and threw the bean can down and ran away.

7 Responses to “To be placed upon my coffin, a dandelion”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    Roses are red,
    Violets are blue;
    But they don’t get around
    Like the dandelions do.
    ~Slim Acres

  2. magpie11 Says:

    Roses are red
    Cabbages are green
    My face is funny
    But yours is a scream.

    Written in an Autograph Book years ago…..

  3. rummuser Says:

    That is a poignant story. I had more or less a similar story about which I think I should post a blog. Do please keep a watch.

  4. magpie11 Says:

    I just wish I new her name…mind you I still “dig” Auburn Hair….which remninds me of a very brave friend with whom I must get in touch. Thanks.

  5. Dale Says:

    At least you finally realised…. 😉

Leave a Reply

