A Marshman’s Snack

At the age of twelve I was given one of my most treasured books; Broadland Adventure, by J Wentworth Day.

Recently I have learned that Wentworth Day held views on several matters that are out-moded, to say the least, and which would land him in hot water today. But, what would a 12 year old growing up in rural Norfolk know of those things in the 1950s?

Broadland Adventure is still a wonderfully evocative book about The Norfolk Broads and the people and wildlife that inhabited them still, back in the 50s. How I long for those wide open skies over Breydon Water. I must go back again one day.

broads

My original copy of the book is long gone. I lent it to someone who was going on holiday to the Broads and who swears to this day that they returned it. If ever I see it again I’ll recognise it by the legend Dorm 16, Wymondham College written inside.

You may wonder what has brought this nostalgia to mind at this time. Put quite simply…Grannymar (who will no doubt now suggest I learn how to do something so that you can click on her name to find out more…I haven’t learned that trick…yet, so I suggest to those who do not know of this redoubtable lady that you type her name “into your favourite search engine”…oh go on then google her)

Where was I? Grannymar….. who posted something about sandwiches on Monday of this week.

Among  the pages of Wentworth Day’s book is a wonderful description of an old Marshman in his hut eating what to me seems to be the most wonderful of sandwiches….so simple and so Norfolk:

A whole kipper (heavenly food) between two inch thick slabs of bread….

kipper

7 Responses to “A Marshman’s Snack”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    ‘two inch thick slabs of bread’ – we called them doorsteps!

    Who is this Grannymar person anyway? Where did you find her? 😉

    I’ll be in touch with homework…. linky homework.

  2. magpie11 Says:

    or doorstops?

    I dunno, she’s just this girl I know 😉

  3. Grannymar Says:

    You shouldn’t pick up girls on the internet. Very bad idea!

  4. magpie11 Says:

    Interestingly, MOST of them pick me up 😉 And there are some …err…”interesting” ones….

  5. elly (grannymar's daughter) Says:

    I did a little digging around on the internet and you can actually pick yourself up a copy of Broadland Adventure here: http://www.alibris.co.uk/booksearch

  6. Grannymar Says:

    I await a post on the ‘interesting’ ones! 🙄

    Well done on the homework. You can go to the top of the class and hand out the pencils!

  7. magpie11 Says:

    Thank you Elly…I did forget to check btw,,,down to the bottom of the class and stay in a t lunchtime suppose.

Leave a Reply

