Human Rights?

What are these Human Rights? Where do they come from? Do we really have rights?

These are just some of the questions that have been occupying my thoughts for a considerable time and I find I cannot answer them in any way that satisfies.

Like every other member of the animal kingdom I was born. My parents brought me up, supposedly with enough skills to survive in the world, but then, so did the parents of this Black Bear we saw with her cub in Canada.

Bear and Cub, Alberta

What is it that gives me any more “rights” than that bear and her cub? Who grants me these rights? Why do I need them?  Indeed , do I in fact need them?

It seems to me that the concept of rights is solely human, a product of our highly developed brain.

I know that some will cite the Divine but that poses problems because some religions would deny the existence of Human Rights and each religion will claim its own right to authority. So let’s leave religion out of it for the moment.

Some will suggest that government/s grant us our rights. Does this mean that government/s can remove them? More on this later methinks.

Can anyone help me answer my own questions?

5 Responses to “Human Rights?”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    First I need to discover if I am human…. then I will think about rights!

  2. magpie11 Says:

    Oh…you show all the good signs of being human….

  3. Nick Says:

    I’ve given a lot of thought to the idea of human rights. Of course there are legally-defined rights but beyond that I don’t think it makes sense to talk of rights in the sense of an automatic entitlement to things. Because after all, who is supposed to provide all these automatic entitlements? It only makes sense to talk of expectations – the expectation that other people will help and support you if you need things, but with the knowledge that they might ignore you instead.

  4. rummuser Says:

    I wrote a blog a while ago – http://rummuser.com/?p=824 and you may find a kindred soul in me in your musings.

    I have lost hope. When the pursuit of happiness is treated as a legitimate right in the constitution of many countries, each pursuer of happiness will claim his view to be the right that needs to be defended.

    I think that I would rather be an aboriginal.

  5. magpie11 Says:

    “Happiness is not something to be sought. Rather, it is something we come across from time to time on our journey through life.” A quote from Someone who said it before I did.

    I have to admit that the simplicity of life of many (so-called) uncivilised peoples is attractive. Unfortunately this simplicity is so often destroyed when (so-called) civilised people impact upon them, often as representatives of religion…usually Christianity, but not exclusively.

    That, however, is for another discussion…perhaps.

Leave a Reply

