The Eleventh Magpie

More about me…..Don’t yawn!

Like many of my generation I first came across the traditional music of England at Primary School in the 1950s.

We listened to a wonderful radio programme called ‘Singing Together’ and the songs that have stuck in my mind ever since were, it turns out, collected in England. Before they could be taught to innocent little children tho’ , they had to be made respectable. Innuendo was never heard of: The Keeper kept a bow under his cloak and as for The Cuckoo……

However, when I went to College in Exeter I was introduced, by one Ray Goodswen, to the glories of English Traditional Dance and I was hooked. It was during those years that I met the late and inspirational traditional Dartmoor musician Bob Cann:

Bob Cann

I haven’t sorted out how to Insert sound clips yet so I hope this works to put you in touch with some of his music:

Bob Cann

On leaving College I began teaching and calling for Barn Dances….I developed a non critical style of calling which mean that people who were not “Dancers”  didn’t have to worry about “getting it right”…”dancers” can be such snobs you know. As time went on people asked for a card ….I used to say that when I found an idea then I would have one printed.

The idea came when I read one of the traditional Magpie Rhymes in a book of children’s poems. It reminded me of why I always greeted magpies when I met them and what my mother had said about me.

That was when the card below was born…and if the graphic designer who designed the Artwork sees this, please get in touch as Sue never did give me your address:

ten-for-the-danceAnd now you know why it’s Magpie11

8 Responses to “The Eleventh Magpie”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    That is a wonderful story of how your name about.

  2. magpie11 Says:

    Why Thank you ma’am! No that doesn’t work…how about:Thank you Young lady?

  3. Grannymar Says:

    The link works! 😀

    YOUNG LADY????????

    I think you need your glasses changed.

  4. magpie11 Says:

    I don’t usually get shouted at for saying things like that!

  5. bikehikebabe Says:

    It’s no longer Feb. 2009. Soon will be 2012. And now I know.

    All I have to remember is that the ‘seed’ for Magpie 11 began in primary school upon learning about traditional English music. Then the introduction to Bob Cann & the interest in traditional English dances which you called, for the non-dancers. (Real dancers don’t need a caller like our Scottish dance group, snobs that we are.)

    For your printed card you found in a children’s book, a poem called ‘Ten for the Dance’. 11 is for England, THAT’S YOU. 12 is for France. Bah!

    Now is that too much to remember?

  6. magpie11 Says:

    Don’t tell your Scottish dancers but most of their dances came from English Printed Collections and like our “Playford ” dances are far removed from ordinary Folk.

    I have never been so badly treated as by Scottish Country Dancers, run a close second by English Country Dancers.

    I take my dancing seriously but heaven forbid that I be as po-faced as that lot…..

  7. bikehikebabe Says:

    Yes, Scottish dancing is called ‘Scottish Country Dancing’. Scottish Highland dancing, you lift your feet high more like Irish River dancing. Do you suppose anyone is interested in dancing besides you & I?

  8. bikehikebabe Says:

    …you & me

Leave a Reply

